Archive for March 31st, 2010

I’ve Never Seen That Many Boxcar Children…

Posted on March 31, 2010. Filed under: Musings | Tags: , , |

…in one store.

I started work today and was immediately immersed in the world of selling books. My only other experience with selling books has been in the online world. Today was a real test for me.

I spent most of my 7 hours sorting, stacking, boxing, lifting, and moving books. Specifically books in The Boxcar Children series. I never realized there were more than 120 volumes in that series, and I used to read it! I was part of The Boxcar Children Club and received four different books a month as a kid; I still remember receiving two of the same books one time and feeling annoyed.

In any event, we got in three gaylords of books today. Don’t ask me why it’s called a gaylord, but that appears to be the technical term. If you ask me, it should be called a gigantic box. But these boxes hold upwards of what looks like at least 1,000 books. (I might not be that great at estimating, but we lifted books out of the gaylord for a good two hours before we finished, and there were three of us working on it.)

Apparently many book resellers tend to go crazy for The Boxcar Children. Was it really that popular? I loved it, of course, but I never knew it was that popular. Though it must be since there are over 120 volumes, plus 20 specials, and an additional odd number of various seasonal specials.

Either way, we’re selling individual volumes of the book for $1.99 each, which is an amazing deal. I’m tempted to dig out all my old copies and see what ones I’m missing, but I know I’ll never finish reading the whole series, and I’m only keeping it for posterity’s sake.

Anyway, I really just wanted to write a little about my first day on the job as it’s the first job I’ve had in ages. It’s going to be interesting getting used to everything, and now I’m exhausted enough that I’ll probably go to bed soon. The good thing is I’ll probably lose some weight with this job! 😉

Well, this was kind of a lame post, but I am very tired. I didn’t expect to work 7 hours today. But I’m happy to have this new job. What’s your happiness this week? Let me know!

-Rae-

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( 3 so far )

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other subscribers
  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...