Archive for March 27th, 2010

The Hepburn Look

Posted on March 27, 2010. Filed under: Books, Historical Fiction, Musings, Teen Fiction | Tags: , , , |

I know it’s not very writing related, but I thought I’d share two pictures from today. As I mentioned yesterday, I went out with my mother and her friends today. It was, as usual, inspired. Everything my mother and her friends do is enough to make me laugh.

But let me say that my dress wasn’t quite the same as Audrey Hepburn’s. Hers was the famous boatneck, floor-length gown that made the little black dress a household item for women of all ages. My hair also wasn’t quite the same as dear Audrey’s either. Though I did try.

For what it’s worth, I made do with what I had. I’ll let you decide if the outfit made me Hepburn-esque enough to pass muster or not.

The Real Audrey Hepburn

My Version of Audrey Hepburn

She was beautiful, wasn’t she? I love the little touches, from the diamond tiara to the extravagant necklace to the cigarette holder. It’s the height of class, elegance, and grace.

Perhaps one of the best parts of her attire was her ability to accentuate the right assets. I know I’ve ranted about modesty before, but I have to admit that Audrey Hepburn puts most of the mavens of today’s underdressed, anorexic society to shame. And she exudes mystery to boot.

I’m biased, but I think she’s beautiful.

So in comparison, we have my version of the Hepburn do. I had my mother help with my hair, and while it has the annoying tendency of not staying in place, today it did quite well.

You’ll notice I even got the black elbow-length gloves and the classic large sunglasses; though I already had that pair.

I had a lot of fun putting together my Audrey Hepburn look, and Lucille was thrilled with the effect. I did get told that I was only hanging out with my mother’s friends because they made me look good, but it was all in good fun.

My Hepburn Impression

So what do you think? Do I make a passable imitation of the classic?

Ah, and I also wanted to mention that I’m doing research for my novel. (This does tie-in, I promise.) I picked my way through Borders the other evening and found myself in the YA section. It’s a little appalling how many vampire fiction stories are out there now. I blame Stephenie Meyer.

Even so, I did find a bit of historical fiction that was too much to resist. It’s a series by an author I haven’t heard of, and it starts with the novel The Luxe. Anna Godbersen’s first novel is a tale of 1899 high society ladies and the intrigue their affairs spark. I’d seen it before but didn’t think much of it till I started to look at it again the other day. My love of historical fiction is simply too much to resist sometimes, so I purchased the first novel.

I love high society even if I’m not a part of it. And The Luxe is full of all the things I’ve always been fascinated by: high class women marrying for money and prestige, young girls finding their way into shady situations with even seedier men, old biddies gossiping about the young whipper-snappers, and of course, the affairs these ladies have with men of all ages, classes, and backgrounds. So far it’s been an enjoyable read, and I’m already embroiled in the conflict of the main characters.

I said there was a tie-in. It’s vague, but it’s there. Audrey Hepburn is my definition of high class. She would have easily fit in as one of New York’s old-school debutantes. Perhaps she really was one; I don’t know.

Either way, that’s the post for the day. Let me know what you think about my Hepburn looks. I had a lot of fun today. What did you do for your Saturday?

-Rae-

P.S. If you want to see the full-size images of my Hepburn looks, click on the photos and then click on them again when the link pops up.

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( 4 so far )

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other subscribers
  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...