Planes, Trains, and Automobiles

Posted on August 2, 2010. Filed under: About Me |

August has arrived, and that means I have less than a month before I leave for China.

Yes, that’s right. I’m leaving at the end of the month. Everything’s moving so quickly I don’t know how I’m going to get everything done in time.

So here are the details of my trip. I’m flying to China on August 24. It’s going to be a long flight. I leave early, early morning on the 24th from Atlanta, and I won’t be getting into my destination till 8:20 p.m. the next day. I’m supposed to have a total travel and layover time of around 25 hours, and my longest flight will be 14 hours and 40 minutes. If that’s not long, I don’t know what is.

And I’ll most likely have trouble sleeping on the plane, even if it is longer than 12 hours in flight. I’ve been to Europe twice, and both times (coming and going) I had trouble getting to sleep. With that said, who knows what will happen on a longer flight? The longest flight I had was only around 8 hours, so I might just get too tired to stay awake any longer and pass out.

When I arrive in Wuhan, I’m supposed to be greeted by a student from the school. That’s a big relief because I was nervous that I’d have to attempt navigating a completely foreign environment on my own after little to no sleep over the course of 24 hours. Can you say disaster? Cause that’s exactly what that would be. I’m excited, though, because I was informed they would have my apartment ready for me to move in that very day and I will be heading there after arriving in town.

The best part about all this? I can start getting past my jet lag quickly. I’m getting into the city at 8:20, and I’m sure it will take some time to sort out my luggage, find the person I’m supposed to meet, and then travel to the university apartment I’ll be using. There are all sorts of logistics to figure out, but in general, I think this will be great since I’ll be able to just get in, put a few things away, grab some pajamas, and pass out for a good 12 hours.

I’m arriving in Wuhan a full week before I have to report for orientation of any kind. That’s also a plus cause I’ll have plenty of time to get used to the campus, get over jet lag, and start acclimating my stomach to some of the spicier foods they serve there. I’m really looking forward to it!

Ah, and I almost forgot, but I did get my passport back with Visa intact. I’m thrilled about that cause I was very nervous sending it out in the first place. That passport’s rather important to me, you know?

As of right now, I don’t have a new domain. I’m still debating about getting one set up. Does anyone out there have any tips and tricks of the trade? I’m thinking about setting up a website and have a domain name picked out that so far hasn’t appeared to be taken. I’ve been debating about who to go through and how to get it put together, but in essence, I want a place where I can put up pictures and videos of my adventures and keep people updated via a blog. If you’ve got any ideas about that, shoot them my way! I’d really appreciate it!

I’ll be back before I go to China to update the blog a few more times. This month is super busy with a trip to Indiana for the state fair and to visit my mom’s family coming up at the end of the week. Then I’ll be going to Nashville to visit my best friend, who would otherwise kill me for not seeing her one last time before I fly out. In the midst of all this, I’ve got one friend who’s newly engaged and raring for my time, a boyfriend who’s driving himself miserable thinking about my imminent departure, a mother who keeps praying I won’t get eaten or be forced to eat dog, and other friends who will no doubt be demanding I spend some of my precious time with them.

Let’s just say I’ll be busy this month. I’m looking forward to every minute of it, though, and I’ll be sure to stay in touch and let you all know if I get a domain set up! Hope you’re doing well, and I wish you all luck in whatever you’re pursuing!

Rae

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Planes, Trains, and Automobiles”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

How exciting. Good luck with all the last minute craziness before you fly out.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

    August 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

