Follow the spiders? Why couldn’t it be follow the butterflies?!

Posted on July 7, 2010. Filed under: About Me |

I’m back! I’m sure you missed me while I was gone, especially since the last time I wrote was Memorial Day weekend. Let me just say that it has been an entirely too busy time for me over the last month and a half or so, and things have just gotten crazier and crazier.

Let me go over the basics so that you’ll be caught up to speed.

First, our house wasn’t overly damaged by the fire back in May. However, we had enough smoke and carbon monoxide damage to warrant having a cleaning crew come in and work on our house. So we had ServePro cleaners in their awesome green truck come to the house every day for a week to clean. They washed the walls, cleaned the surfaces of things, cleaned the windows, and did all sorts of other things. They came back the following week to clean the carpets. We had painters come and paint the garage as well. Oh, and we had a plumber come out to look at the jacuzzi because one of the ServePro people who cleaned the bathroom managed to turn on the jets without leaving any water in the tub, which is obviously not a good idea.

So now that my house is back to normal and with a nice, new coat of paint in the garage, we’ve settled back into some semblance of normalcy. But that normalcy has been disrupted by all sorts of other things that have made our lives feel rather up in the air, especially things concerning me.

I’ll start in chronological order telling you all the wonderful details of my life over the past few months.

First, I was in a wedding in June. My friend got married, and I was one of the blushing bridesmaids. (Granted it’s normally brides who blush, but I had good reason!) It was quite the affair, and I’m very happy it’s over–for myself and for her. The wedding was a night wedding about an hour out of town, so by the time I got home that night, I was rather exhausted. However, one of the guys who was at the wedding had added me as a friend on Facebook and sent me a message asking me out. It threw me completely for a loop.

Let me just admit that I’ve never actually been in a dating relationship before or had a boyfriend or been kissed. It’s almost embarrassing, but I’m really not too worried about it. Before I was asked out at the wedding, I’d been dabbling a bit in online dating to see how that was, and it certainly was an adventure to be shared. But that said, I’m very happy that Oliver asked me out after the wedding.

Yes, his name is Oliver, and while I would normally have turned him down flat out of insecurity and ridiculous fears, I decided I would go for it and see what happened. That was June 11, and now almost a month later, I have a boyfriend.

Now the only problem with getting a boyfriend is that I also have another commitment that I made prior to Oliver’s asking me out. Yes, that’s right: China. I’m still planning to go, even though Oliver probably wishes I wouldn’t. (He says he’s happy for me, but I don’t know if he’s just saying that to make me feel better or not.) At this moment in time, I’m working on getting my Visa papers sent off to the nearest Chinese consulate (Chicago, most likely) so that I’ll receive the Visa in time to go to China. I’m also trying to find a flight, which is easier said than done given the hike in prices the closer I get to the D-date (departure-date).

I have to be in China on September 1, so I’m planning to fly in at the end of August. I’ve got to figure out a lot of details and have all sorts of doctor appointments scheduled to get necessary vaccinations, have my eyes checked, get my teeth cleaned, etc. It’s been an entertaining but exhausting process.

To add to the busyness of my life, I only recently found out that the Book Gallery is moving. Our lease was recently terminated because the owners of the facility found a different renter who wants to pay the full $60,000 a month rent or whatever the rent originally was. Because Book Gallery was on a discounted rent, the results are that we have until August 10 to move out. That said, we’re starting the process of dealing with more customers coming in for our incredible “progressive” sale (going on till the end of July) while trying to field calls from the other locations and boxing things up either for Amazon purchases or for other stores.

In between hanging out with Oliver, working, and researching for China, I’m sleeping and eating. It has obviously been a rather busy time for me, and it’s only going to get worse as August draws near. I am hoping to start a second blog or an extension of this one for my actual China trip to record my life and things that are happening. We’ll see how that goes. I’ve been tinkering with websites that allow me to check which websites will go through the Great Firewall of China, and unfortunately I’m not sure I’ll always be able to use WordPress as the Chinese apparently don’t like the liberties of free speech and try to stifle it online. I may end up getting my own domain and making my own website, so if I do, I’ll be sure to post it here so you can follow my Chinese adventures.

With that said, I know this has been kind of a crazy update, but I’ll end it by explaining my title. If you don’t get the quote, I am very sorry and sad. But for the record, that particular movie and the others in the series have been much fun to watch with Oliver. And that is where I’ll leave you.

Feel free to comment, especially if you can name that movie and the person who said the line. I hope you’re all doing well, and I’ll update before I leave for sure, if not sooner.

-Rae-

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Follow the spiders? Why couldn’t it be follow the butterflies?!”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

Welcome back Rae!

How’s my aspiring writer?

I’m glad to hear the happy news. Oliver sounds very nice and I’m sure he will miss you, but is still proud that you’re going to China.

Rae, I’m in a contest for Sweet Leaf Tea and currently I’m in third place out of the top ten. Can you vote for my photo. I have 202 votes now and am still going strong. 😉

Here’s my link:
http://sweetleafsweetspot.com/209

Spread the word. Every vote counts.

I’ll await your new blog!

Thank you so much,
-Ed

Hey Ed!

Thanks so much for the comment! I ran over to the Sweet Leaf Tea and Facebook “liked” it, so hopefully that will help your votes out a bit! It’s adorable! Did you do the picture yourself?

I’m doing well, a little nervous and excited and having a ball. Life is picking up, and I can’t say that I’m that disappointed by it. I like Oliver quite a bit, and I have to admit he was a big surprise, not that I’m complaining. I’m definitely looking forward to China, though. It’s going to be a crazy adventure, but at least I have a few friends who have been, including one who went to the same university to teach last year, so I’ll have some warning before I head out of what to look forward to.

I’m still debating about that new blog, but it’ll definitely be something I’ll keep you informed of if I make a new one. I hope you do well in your contest! Good luck with that!

– Rae


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

    July 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Aug »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

