Happy 30th Anniversary, Pacman!

Posted on May 21, 2010. Filed under: Musings | Tags: , , , , , , , |

So this is the 30th anniversary of Pacman’s addition to our gaming world. And what has Google done to celebrate? None other than make sure we’ll all remember Pacman by using the iconic ‘Google’ doodle title (that shifty thing that changes based on holidays at the top of the search page) to create our old friend.

You, too, can play Pacman from your browser. Though I don’t know how much longer that particular application will last for Google.

And if you’re feeling lucky? Try it with a friend.

See the button next to the “Google Search” button? It reads “Insert Coin.” That’s the button you want to press in order to play Pacman on Google in the first place. Now if you click it twice, you gain the power of Mrs. Pacman and can play two person Pacman.

What are the controls for that particular version of the game? You can use the arrow keys to control Pacman and the WASD keys to control the Mrs. See who can score the best in this game and try your luck at Pacman on Google.

And while I’m discussing it, what was your favorite game growing up? I don’t necessarily mean arcade style. Just in general. I’m curious since I was really excited about seeing Pacman on Google when I was at work today.

Personally I was a big fan of Mario, the original Mario, you know, the one with Duck Hunt. That was a classic. And, of course, like most people, we had the awesome Duck Hunting guns to really get into the games.

My mother, on the other hand, loved Dr. Mario. It was kind of like Tetris but for Mario. Do you remember that game?

Go, Dr. Mario, Go!

My mom was amazing at that particular game. I wasn’t nearly as good, but I certainly tried my hand at it a couple of times.

I’ve never been much of a gamer, but over the years I tried my hands at some of the gaming consoles that came out. I got a special “gold” version of Zelda for the Nintendo64 that I could not for the life of me figure out. And it was supposedly a special edition of the game that was worth a lot of money. I have no idea why. No one even plays that console anymore.

I think my favorite game, though, was on the original Playstation. I never got a PS2 or a PS 3. I just wasn’t interested in those, but the original? Well, that’s where I got into racing games.

Need for Speed 3: Hot Pursuit

My all-time favorite video game would definitely be Need for Speed 3: Hot Pursuit. We bought this game with our Playstation and wore it out. My dad searched online for the special cheat codes to unlock cooler cars, and we got the point where we knew all the tracks by heart.

I found all the shortcuts and could zip past people like they were sitting still when we raced with traffic on. I admit I never did very well in the pursuit mode, so I rarely played it, but I knew my favorite car and my favorite track like the back of my hand. I managed to beat my father on the game, which was a feat to be acknowledged indeed.

As weird of a post as this is, I had to do it. Pacman inspired me. And I hope you get a chance to play the game. It’s quite fun, even if I am, admittedly, rather poor at it myself!

Let me know if you get past the third level, though!

-Rae-

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

    May 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

