On Downtown Driving

Posted on May 19, 2010. Filed under: About Me | Tags: |

Hello from the wonderful world of Kentucky!

I’m obviously not at home now, and since Amazon was kind enough to provide me free wireless internet at the hotel they’re having me stay in, I thought I’d write a blog post to let you all know I’m alive and kicking and terrified about tomorrow’s interview. There’s a good reason for me to be afraid, too. They’re requiring me to do a math problem for them as part of the interview criteria.

Let’s get one thing straight: I don’t do math. Math is not my thing, and even though I can do it when I sit down and think through it, I’ve never seen the purpose. The only purpose I have for math is in making sure my money adds up in my finances and purchases. Granted, that’s a pretty big reason to know math, but still… I just hate having to wade through problems and find answers.

Give me an essay any day. Want me to write you a page on Amazon? I’m there. Give me a pen and a piece of paper, and I’m on my way. Want me to solve a problem concerning production? No thank you.

I have no idea what this particular problem is going to be, and I’m not sure I want to know. But even so, I’m here and interviewing tomorrow for better or worse.

My self-confidence isn’t that great, but I keep reminding myself that I must have done something right to get a second interview in the first place. Not only that but I must have done something right to land an interview where the company is paying to put me up in a rather nice hotel for a night and pay for my mileage and meals while I’m here. So maybe the math won’t be so bad, right?

I’ll keep telling myself that.

Like I said, the hotel is great. I have two double beds, a flat-screen TV, free wireless internet, a nice desk where I’m currently seated with my laptop in front of me, and a bathroom fully equipped for my needs. (It even has a blow-dryer and toothpaste.)

I just finished eating dinner at one of Lexington’s finest restaurants. Although, I have to admit, it’s not really that fine of a restaurant. It’s just a local, downtown place that’s close enough to the hotel I could walk there. To be fair, I wanted something easy that would give me enough options to find something that sounded halfway decent cause I’m still a wee bit nervous about all of this.

I wound up at deSha’s Lexington, a rather eclectic and very pretty little restaurant. They’re a bit on the pricey side, but that’s okay. I asked the waiter what was good, and he suggested the stuffed mushroom appetizer and a new item on the menu, the Smoky Mountain pasta. I tried it out, but it was a wee bit disappointing.

It’s not that the service was bad or the food undercooked. But the dishes themselves were lacking a bit of flavor. I think I would have spiced the pasta up with some garlic, basil, parsley, and arugula, personally. (Of course, I love the nutty flavor of arugula and think it would have complimented the bacon and shredded parmesan nicely.) Oh well, it was dinner and filling, and now I’ve got a comfortably well-fed tummy.

After a while, I may even go down to the indoor pool and swim a bit to wear myself out so I can sleep tonight.

I’m not sure how I feel yet, but I’ll be sure to write a post-interview blog to let you know how it went. Unfortunately, I can’t divulge everything as I’m expected to sign a non-disclosure agreement. Anything Amazon deems confidential information is going to be withheld from any public venues, but I’m sure I’ll at least be able to tell you all how I felt the interview went. (And I’ll mention whether I was able to do the math or not!)

So you’ll have to be looking forward to that, and hopefully I’ll be able to get up another book review or something similar later this week. There’s a particular website I’ve been itching to get my hands on in another review as well, so I’ll have to work that in at some point.

I hope you’re all doing well, and if you think about it, please wish me luck for tomorrow and keep me in your thoughts! I could certainly use all the help I can get! Either way, though, no matter how it turns out, life’s good, and I’ll be happy.

Until tomorrow…

-Rae-

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “On Downtown Driving”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

Rae, if there’s any advice I could give, fake it.

No, I don’t mean in some kind of duplicitous way, but if you’re scared to death of saying something “stare worthy” or forgetting to say anything at all, just fake being confident.

If there’s anything that I know to be true, hiring managers like people who seem self-assured.

I’m probably more wonky than you are so I know what it feels like to have that little voice in your head that whispers, “What if I can’t?”

Now, the math thing is a tough one to work around, but after reading that detailed analysis of how pricing works at your current job…you sure could have fooled me.

They’re not going to ask you to solve the values of all fundamental physical constants. You can trust me on that one.

So, enjoy your sweet sweet “bluegrass” vacation and when you get to that interview own it.

-Ed


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

    May 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

