I Was Walking Through The Park One Day…

Posted on May 2, 2010. Filed under: About Me, About This Blog, Uncategorized | Tags: , |

…in the merry, merry month of May. You know the rest of the song, don’t you? I’m not even sure what the title is to be honest, but I was struck by the song and felt it appropriate to throw that out there.

Now, randomness aside, I have some goals and plans that I’d like to share with you lovely readers of mine. I’m very grateful that you’ve chosen to read this humble blog, and since April was a bust, I have a specific plan for May.

I’ve decided that I’m going to have to get back in the habit of posting a blog regularly because I do terribly if I’m just let go. So I’m proposing that I write a blog post three times a week. I haven’t decided if I’ll post on specific days, but I think I can manage three times a week well enough. It might be a Monday, Wednesday, Friday week or it might be a Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday week, but either way I’ll be posting more regularly. And I won’t be limiting myself to just three times a week. If I have more to post that week, I’ll do it.

All of this is to keep my blog more current than I did in April. I have several topics I can post on as well as an archive of book reviews I’ve been writing as I finish reading books over the year 2010. Speaking of, that was one of my goals for this year. I have a never ending list of to-be-read books on my computer that I keep updated based on what books I buy and what books I read and review. As of today, the list of total books to be read in 2010 has reached 55, meaning I have 55 books in my room to be read. Of those, I’ve managed to read and review somewhere in the neighborhood of 16.

I’ve got a lot of reading to do.

But I was thinking that one way to motivate myself to finish reading the five books I wanted to read and review this month would be to begin posting my book reviews on my blog. They’re rather lengthy, but they’re thorough enough for me. And quite frankly I only wrote them for me, but you might find them amusing.

So feel free to weigh in on that. Would you like to read my book reviews of some of the books I’ve read, or would you like me to write fresh things to post? Or some combination of the two? Let me know.

What I’ll do is post a book review this week and let you see what my style is for writing these reviews. If you’re interested in seeing more, I’ll post them. Sound like a plan? I thought so.

And since we’re talking plans, May is going to be a rather big month for me. I’m supposed to be receiving the contract from the university in China soon, and that’ll mean lots of time spent perusing all the nitty-gritty details of this job offer. On top of that, I have a second interview with Amazon May 20 that I have to arrange with their logistics people. They mentioned flying me in, but I’d prefer to drive up as long as they’re still willing to put me up in a hotel for a night. And I’ll be going to visit with a Chinese English teacher from the university in China who’s studying at my university and is in town right now. He’s offered to answer any questions I might have.

Here’s hoping May will bring some concrete decisions to make and allow June to begin my planning months!

What else did I want to say? I’m writing again even though it’s not on anything original. I made a goal to write something, anything fiction this month. I don’t even have to finish a piece of fiction. I just need to work on it steadily to fulfill that goal. So I’m working on a piece of fanfiction I began last year. It’s rather cathartic to have something productive to work on that isn’t bookstore work.

Finally I am going to get my butt in gear and start editing my novel again. It fell by the wayside at the end of March, but we’re fast approaching the deadline for getting my order in for the proof copy, and darn it, I still want that shiny proof. So I’ve made a goal to at least correct all the glaring grammatical errors by the end of this month. Feel free to cheer me on and check in on how I’m doing.

Well, I think that’s everything I needed to share. I’ll be back later this week with my first book review post. I hope you’ll enjoy it. Let me know what’s new with you, and hopefully I’ll go above and beyond and actually get back to reading and commenting on other blogs!

-Rae-

P.S. Is the line to that song “merry, merry month of May” or “very merry month of May”? I’m not actually sure.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “I Was Walking Through The Park One Day…”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

I really enjoy it when people post short fiction, poetry, or reviews (books, movies, etc.).

As far as the fiction project, you could always participate in #fridayflash on Twitter. That way you have a deadline, a word goal (less than 1k), and an audience to give feedback. 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

    May 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

