Why Haven’t I Seen These Before?

Posted on April 26, 2010. Filed under: Books, Children's, Uncategorized | Tags: , |

The title might be a bit misleading, so I’ll explain. I’m referring to books on tape or CD. It’s not to say I haven’t seen them before, but in all my years of being a book aficionado, I’ve never enjoyed a book on tape or CD before today.

Why did I listen to a book on CD? Well, I was coming home from a weekend away. I went to my best friend’s apartment for the weekend to get away from all the craziness of home. It’s going to be the last splurge I can really make till August when I go to Indiana, but that’s another topic altogether, and I’m certain to bore you with all those details closer to time.

That said, my best friend lives about three hours away from me, so I had plenty of time on the drive to get about halfway through a book. Normally I would have said it would be better to read the book before I listen to it on tape. Why? Because I’m weird that way. But this was not a book I’d read before. It was, however, a book I’d seen in the movie form, and I’m pleased to report that screenwriters still deviate from book’s plots.

I listened to the book How To Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell. This book is billed for children ages 9 to 12, but I figure it’s okay to listen to a book like this since I watched the movie. Besides, I got copies of the CDs from a coworker after we discussed the differences between the books and movie one night.

To begin, I’ll admit that this is definitely the right kind of audiobook for me. First of all, it’s a children’s book, so the reading is very expressive. In fact, the person they got to read the book is David Tennant, who I’ve heard is on the popular TV show Dr. Who. I’ve never seen Dr. Who, so I had no idea who David Tennant was until I looked him up; apparently I know him as Barty Crouch Jr. from the movie Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. It’s good to know who he is because I absolutely love this man’s voice!

What’s great about this audiobook is that Tennant does a fabulous job making the characters come alive. I’m not sure if Tennant himself is British, but he does have a lovely, pleasant accent that makes me smile. And he switches things up when going from Hiccup’s quiet voice to Gober’s booming one.

I honestly didn’t think I’d like something that was all spoken. I’m more of a reader than a listener, but this made me feel like I was a part of the story as I drove down the interstate. It was nice to grab some breakfast from McDonald’s, pop the first CD into the player, and adjust the volume accordingly. I drove for a good 2.5 hours listening to the first two CDs.

The only downside to audiobooks? Not being in the car long enough to finish the story. I realized I was back in town when the second CD ended, and I still had two left! So I haven’t finished listening to the story.

That said, I think I’m a newly converted fan of audiobooks. It’s heresy, I know, but I’m allowed an indulgence every once in a while. What about you? Are you a fan of audiobooks or not? Let me know!

-Rae-

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “Why Haven’t I Seen These Before?”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

I had the same experience exactly! In fact, I was having eye trouble at the time and terrified of going blind, not because of being incapacitated in any way – I can do pretty much everything blindfolded since I mostly walk around with my eyes on a book — but because spending the rest of my life listening to audio books carried the same terror as spending it in a nursing home. Then I listened to the Hiccup books, just because of DT. WOW! Fears allayed. I realized I’d been putting down a whole format based on a couple of bad experiences; like saying “I hate movies.” because I’d only ever seen Alvin and the Chipmunks. And it turns out audio books are great for getting boring jobs done, like cleaning the basement, which is difficult with book in hand. All of the Hiccup audio books are great and DT never disappoints. Also terrific are “Anansi Boys” read by Lenny Henry, and “Pictures of Hollis Woods” read by Hope Davis.

Hi there! Thanks for the comment! I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who was a little concerned about audiobooks! 😀 I’ll have to keep in mind how good audiobooks are for housework cause I have a bedroom that needs cleaning tomorrow! I’m glad to hear all the Hiccup books are good cause I’ve really enjoyed what I listened to so far.

Thanks for offering the suggestions, as well. I’ll have to look into those! 🙂

I don’t understand why in the world you would think audiobooks are heresy. They are simply books in a different form, and they’re especially handy when you’re commuting so you can actually accomplish something when you’re stuck in the car (or housecleaning or whatever). Unless you choose abridged, its exactly the same content.

I *LOVE* audiobooks. I’m also hooked on podcasts though, so I’ve cut down on my consumption and do most of my reading as ebooks. You might be interested in podiobooks.com. It’s audiobooks in mp3 format that you can download for free. I listen to them in the car via my cellphone (it plugs in to the speakers).

A podcast you might be interested in is:
I Should Be Writing by Mur Lafferty. You can download it for free and its all about trying to become a published author and a beginning newly published author. It’s great.

Heretics such as myself welcome another convert.
heh 🙂

I suppose I only thought it was heresy cause I’ve always been a person who’s a “hardcore reader” and doesn’t latch onto things like audiobooks or ebooks. And normally I’m not interested in having things read aloud; although, I’m not as bad as my mom. Oh well.

I was surprised by how much I liked it. I’ll have to check out podiobooks.com since you recommended it. Sounds interesting. And I might need to check into the podcast by Mur Lafferty. It would probably be good for me, wouldn’t it? 😀

And thanks for welcoming the new convert. 😛

Now, finish your conversion and fall in love with David Tennant. Forget Barty Crouch Jr. That’s the least of it. DT was The Doctor on the British TV show Doctor Who for years. (With an English accent.) You can get it on Netflix, Watch instantly. Like most of his stuff, it’s also on YouTube. Here’s a sample. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtRCaEV2Zpc He’s done lots of audio work, which you can access at http://www.david-tennant.com/2009/id106.html His Hamlet is on PBS Great Performances tomorrow night, Wednesday, April 28, at 8 PM and will be on the PBS website after that. Here’s a sample. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J8C4gPU_hEU&feature=related He has done several wonderful mini-series. Here’s a sample of Blackpool, which you can also find on YouTube under Story of Peter and Natalie. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=egkOuF2e19U Here’s a sample of Casanova. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kd0sfdZFYWg One of the best ones, Takin’ Over the Asylum, you can only get in whole by buying it from Amazon.co.UK and also buying a region-free DVD player (Phillips brand is good.) It’s completely worth it. Sample it at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8nH-klWQdLw&feature=related
And for a great skit: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WxB1gB6K-2A

Have fun!

The only times I’ve listened to audiobooks is when I’ve long commutes. I mostly use them for the books that I want to read, but not enough to rise to the top of my to-be-read pile.

I have to say that I really liked The Thirteenth Tale’s audiobook. Lynn Redgrave made for an amazing narrator. I did, annoyingly enough, have an abridged version for that one, so recently I read the actual book so I could get a sense of the whole book.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

    April 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

