Despite Popular Opinion…

Posted on April 15, 2010. Filed under: Musings |

…I’m not dead. Yet. Though it could happen any day, I’m not sure. As of today, however, I am very much alive and sore.

I apologize for my disappearing act. April has been a roller coaster month for me. I started a job, interviewed for other jobs, continued working towards things like teaching ESL in Asian countries, and have made new friends via my coworkers. One of said coworkers invited me out for sushi on Saturday night, and I am most pleased to say I accepted. She’s a pretty cool chick even if we are ridiculously different in almost every way.

I am happy to report that I’m doing well with my new job. You all will be so pleased with me. I’m working close to 40 hours a week, which is a good sign, and I haven’t been late once. (This is coming from the girl who is perpetually late to everything, and I do mean everything.) I get along with my coworkers and have virtual autonomy on the job as the owners (i.e. managers) live three hours away and are sporadic about their visits to town.

There’s something interesting about working in a bookstore, though. It makes me appreciate book burnings.

Let me clarify my position on that. It’s not simply because I’m seeing a deluge of titles that I totally disagree with (i.e. The God Delusion) and not because I worry about the morality of certain authors (i.e. Zane) and certainly not because I am frustrated with the tedious nature of the job itself (i.e. unloading boxes, sorting and stacking books, and packing new boxes). It’s really more because of the repetition of seeing 500 Curious George books coming from the same skid. Three skids of the monkey, and I’m going bananas.

I can see the good and bad of a nice, old-fashioned book burning.

That’s not to say that I haven’t been reading. On the contrary, I’m having to limit myself to three books a month in order to keep from purchasing every interesting title on my limited income. So far I’ve read two books this month and am halfway through a third. (And a fourth, if I’m being honest.)

I’ve got a slew of post ideas as well that have been brewing while I’ve been working instead of writing. So don’t worry about me just quitting on you. I’ve got a lead on a new website I want to review, a few target market research posts brewing, and a book review that I think you’ll enjoy.

With that said, I think I’m done for tonight. I did have an interview this week with Amazon that was pretty cool. I’m not holding my breath yet. Alas, I have yet to hear back from my Target interview. I’m beginning to lose hope on that one. Oh well.

What’s been going on with you all? I feel so out of touch. I’ve barely touched the computer these last few weeks. Let me know how you’re doing, and again I apologize for just dropping off the face of the planet. I should be back now; although I’m not sure how often I’ll be posting. I’ll see how I feel about attempting to keep a schedule next week.

-Rae-

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Despite Popular Opinion…”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

I’m glad that your new job is working out well and you’re making new friends.

I know there is a lot of waste with the new books. I remember when I worked in a bookstore and we’d rip the covers off and throw away the books. It felt like heresy.

That’s another reason I love the ebooks so much. It strikes me as much less wasteful. There are as many copies as needed by whoever wants them, and no paper wasted. Also, its just handy to have with you all the time on your phone or Palm Pilot or whatever.

Personally, my son has been writing stories and poems. We went to a Poetry reading last week that went really well. He started playing football. That’s about it.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

    April 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

