Screnzy Shoutout

Posted on March 29, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Today’s post is to offer up a shoutout for Screnzy, more commonly known as Script Frenzy.

The reason I’m doing it is because National Novel Writing Month was the one place that convinced me it was possible for me to write a full-length novel. The organization is sound, and the group doesn’t scam or con writers. Anyone who reads my posts regularly will know that from experience most likely.

NaNoWriMo is the official creator and organizer of Script Frenzy as well. So what is it? Similar to NaNoWriMo’s fast-paced, month-long adventure of writing, Script Frenzy galvanizes playwrights to action: specifically the action of writing 100 pages of a play.


Script Frenzy takes place each year in April and is a 30 day adventure of writing a 100 page script. There’s no limits on what kind of script so long as it’s formatted correctly. So if you’re wanting to be a screenwriter for Hollywood, go ahead and write that Oscar winning movie script.

The key is, of course, to complete the writing within 30 days. Just as the novelist writes 50,000 words in 30 days for NaNoWriMo, Script Frenzy also operates under the “one day” assumptions of NaNoWriMo.

“One day I’ll write a script” is never going to happen. So don’t worry about the fact that you’re busy, overwhelmed, or working. Just join Script Frenzy and write like a madman (or a madwoman) for 30 days and come out of it with a script. It might not look or smell like you expected, but if you do it, you’ll be surprised at the outcome.

That said, I’m not doing Screnzy. Why? Because I have no interest in scripts. The only scripts I care for are the ones I’m acting out, and that normally involves already written scripts. My brain seems to have come hard-wired for pure fiction in the form of short stories or novels. The only alteration (or aberration if you prefer that term) is my penchant for poetry.

So if you’re looking for an unusual project for April, I’d suggest Script Frenzy.

I’m still debating on how my April’s going to go. I know I’ll be working, so in theory, I might be too busy to do much else. But if I only end up working part-time (more on that later), I’ll have time to edit my novel some more. And that would probably be a good thing considering I’ve got that proof copy to get.

I haven’t decided whether I’ll go for another month of NaBloPoMo, though. Two months of posting every day has taught me that it’s difficult to keep up the momentum, especially when things like health issues and interviews get thrown into the mix. We’ll see how it goes! For now, I’m going to finish out this month’s NaBloPoMo challenge and then decide later for April.

Anyway, that’s all for today. I’m off to work on my editing before I get the call to come out to coffee. What’s everyone else planning for April? Any big projects? Let me know!

-Rae-

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Screnzy Shoutout”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

Hi there, thanks for the comment! I’m surprised I came up in a blog directory… mind sending me the link? I’m curious as to where you found me. And thanks for bookmarking me. I haven’t been writing a lot lately, but I’m planning to get back on the blogging wagon here in a week or so, so look for some new posts!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

