Ain’t It Nifty? Rae’s Gone Fifties!

Posted on March 26, 2010. Filed under: Musings | Tags: , , , , , |

So today’s post is the quintessential filler post. But it should be entertaining. I have fun news for you!

My life has been characterized by always making friends with people older than myself. So it should come as no surprise that I am friends with my mom’s group of friends. I’ve been friends with them since I was a kid, really, and the one thing the other three women have in common is that they all have boys. Mom’s the only mother with a daughter. Because of that, I share the distinct privilege of having three unique “aunts.”

What does that mean? Well, first it means I have lots of fodder for entertaining stories. (You knew I’d have to get in something about writing, didn’t you?) The first time I went out with them, we ended up at Olive Garden where one of mom’s friends, a woman we’ll call Lucille*, proceeded to ogle, flirt with, and openly hit on the waiter. The poor guy was my age, and he was a little distraught at all the attention he was receiving. Of course, Lucille meant nothing by it, but he didn’t know that!

Another great story example? The foursome was involved in my prom plannings when I was a senior in high school. Lucille had just gotten a white Escalade and offered to be the chauffeur for my date and I as well as the three friends we were going to prom with. The results of that? Two of mom’s friends primped and preened (read: painted our faces) myself and a friend of mine. Then we drove to another home for pictures. Following that, we piled into the Escalade, poofed skirts and all, and went to the Italian restaurant Bravo for dinner. There Mom and her friends ended up eating together while watching myself and my group from across the restaurant.

Needless to say, I have learned not to get embarrassed around this group of women. They’re just a staple in my life.

So tomorrow is going to be another girls’ day. Lucille turns 50 on Sunday, which means, of course, that we have to go out to celebrate with her. Normally this would mean hanging out at one of the houses, having lunch, opening gifts, typical things. For Lucille, the woman who introduced me to the phrase “Accessories make the outfit,” a 50th birthday requires something a little extra.

The Original Lucille

Now I know what you’re thinking. The above is not my Lucille; however, Lucille will be dressing up tomorrow as the indomitable heroine of I Love Lucy, Lucille Ball, or Lucy Ricardo as she was known on the show. My Lucille has purchased the outfit, wig, and yes, the accessories.

Of course, the obvious can be inferred. She’s making the rest of us dress up as characters from the 50s. We knew this back in January for mom’s birthday, but I assumed I would be exempt from this as the youngest member of the group. I’ve only recently been inducted into the girls’ group anyway, so why would Lucille want me to dress up?

I was wrong.

Today I went shopping with my mother to pick out last-minute supplies for our outfits. We’ve since learned that Della* is going to be wearing the always-fashionable, trend-setting poodle skirt. I’m assuming a feminine white button down top and perhaps some loafers will complete the outfit for dear Della.

We have no idea what Helen’s* going to wear. She refused to dress up at first, but now she’s slowly coming around. Mom picked out her idea ages ago: she’s going to dress as Doris Day.

Who is Doris Day? Glad you asked. She’s an actress, probably best known for her work in the movie Pillow Talk.

Doris Day

So Mom has been planning her outfit with care, doing research (i.e. watching movies of Doris Day on Youtube), and finding the necessary items. She plans to wear a black shift dress as well as a sweater over the top and a string of fake pearls (purchased today). We also picked up some black evening gloves for her to wear with the outfit in true Doris Day style.

I might as well admit it. I wanted to take a camera, wear all black, and tell people I was the group’s official photographer. The plan is to go out to Bravo, the Italian restaurant, for lunch, which will give us the greatest visibility, of course. After lunch, Lucille wants to go to a movie. I’m personally voting for Alice In Wonderland as it would make naming my Facebook photo album from this event so easy: “Lucille in Wonderland.” And after the movie? Who knows? We might visit the grand opening of the new coffee shop in town that’s giving away lots of fabulous door prizes.

Either way, we’ll be making a scene no matter where we go, which is exactly the way Lucille wants it. That said, Mom convinced me to buy an outfit for tomorrow. So who am I going to be?

The Quintessential Audrey Hepburn

Yes, that’s right. I’m going as the most recognized Audrey Hepburn film character: Holly Golightly. To be fair, I don’t think I can quite pull off the elegance and grace that Hepburn radiated. She was probably one of the classiest women of all time, and I? I’m just down-home Rae, full of fantasies and dreams, with a style all my own that tends not to follow current trends.

That said, I have officially purchased my first and only ‘little black dress.’ I’m on the fast track to fashion success! Finally!

Kidding, kidding. But now would be a good time to introduce one last point on tonight’s post. People like Lucille and Audrey Hepburn have even managed to inspire my reading list; thus, I purchased a gem of a book a few years ago that I would recommend even to the least girly-girl out there. (And, trust me, I’m not that girly to begin with.)

The book is called How To Walk In High Heels, and it’s by Camilla Morton. Morton’s book deals with everything from where to practice walking in your heels (her suggestion is at grocery stores while leaning heavily on your shopping cart) to how to change a flat tire. It’s the girl’s (fashionable) guide to practically everything, and with fun guest-articles from people like Heidi Klum and Manolo Blahnik, there’s something for even the most fashion-conscious reader.

I found it a few years ago and bought it for fun, but Morton’s book has quite a bit of practical advice as well. Click the above link and see for yourself: it’s a Google preview of the book with what seems like the entire book outlined for your viewing pleasure.

Anyway, I’ll close this by saying that tomorrow promises to be an entertaining day, and I’m sure I’ll be blogging about it. I might even throw in a few pictures of the event.

I hope you’re all doing well! Feel free to leave me comments and thoughts on this rather unorthodox post. I look forward to hearing from you!

-Rae-

* Names have been changed to protect the innocent. 😉

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Ain’t It Nifty? Rae’s Gone Fifties!”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

That sounds like so much fun. I love dressing up as characters! My favorite holiday is Halloween, and my favorite tea party I’ve ever been to was Mad Hatter. I was the Queen, went in character, and constantly assaulted people with my pink flamingo (don’t ask).

Seriously. I’m very jealous. Please post pics of you guys all dressed up!

Heh – my favorite holiday is Christmas, but my birthday is Halloween, so it’s very near and dear to my heart.

Your costume as the Queen sounds awesome. I want a pink flamingo… did it flop around like the croquet sticks? 😛 That sounds like you had fun.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

