Considerations on Tate Publishing

Posted on March 18, 2010. Filed under: Publishing | Tags: , |

Recently, Ed Wilson wrote a post on self-publishing. She made a great number of points about the process of getting your book self-published. On that particular post, a person made a comment about a certain publisher, and I decided to investigate.

The commenter pointed out some research she was doing on publishing and mentioned Tate Publishing, which bills itself as a Christian publishing agency for new and unpublished novelists. I’m always on the lookout for new publishing agencies to check out if and when I decide to search out publishers of my own, and I was intrigued enough to click on their link.

The home page for Tate explains that the company is looking for new authors to both publish and market. Tate has connections in major bookstores, like Barnes & Noble, Amazon, and others. According to the website, Tate also has the ability to edit, design covers for, publish, and market writing from unpublished authors.

Accepting unsolicited manuscripts is no big deal for Tate as they are constantly on the lookout for authors. Unlike a majority of other traditional publishers, Tate is accepting manuscripts in various ways, including through their manuscript submission link. The company thrives on helping new authors find their way into the wide world of publishing, so long as the authors write works that do not contradict the Christian values of the company. (I found nothing indicating that they published solely Christian books, so I’m assuming they publish in the general market as well.)

So what’s the catch? Tate accepts manuscripts, assesses them for their publishability, and takes on the authors who fit the criteria. It’s a dream come true for aspiring authors everywhere, and like certain other publishers must receive ridiculous amounts of manuscripts each year. If you’re good enough, your passion for writing and submitted manuscript could land you a publishing contract with this distinguished publisher.

In addition, Tate offers some of the highest royalty rates in the industry, according to their website in any event. After reading all that, I was hooked. No, I’m not jumping right in; I have nothing to jump in with yet. However, I’m cautiously seeing what I can find out about the company.

I originally wrote this post with some suspicion. I was concerned about Tate for a few reasons, mostly having to do with their required author investment remarks. I decided to do a more in-depth probe to see what I found out and submitted my name and email to receive more information.

As the email mentioned being copyrighted and confidential, I’m afraid I’ll have to be vague on what it said. However, it did offer much more information than I found on their website, very detailed, and full of insight on how the author investment idea works. I’m not completely sold as it seems a tall order to fulfill, and I have a few questions I’d like answered that weren’t addressed on site or in the email. However, I’m curious enough to keep searching.

With that in mind, does anyone have any good tips for finding information about publishers? Distribution rates? Average number of volumes sold? I’d be interested in doing a more targeted search on Tate before I commit to anything. (Granted I need a nice, finished copy of a novel finished, first.)

I’m also considering calling the number provided in the email and asking to speak to the founder. If you happen to fill out their information sheet, take a look at the video that pops up with the ‘thank you’ page. You’ll find it as entertaining and amusing as I did, I’m sure.

What are your thoughts on Tate? Not even on your radar? Heard any good or bad opinions? I’d be interested in hearing about it.

-Rae-

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

43 Responses to “Considerations on Tate Publishing”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

I’d say a good starting point to know about Tate Publishing would be this thread:
http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=992

Absolute write as a large and extensive forum where people can get a consensus on a publisher’s legitimacy or not.

I hope this helps.

-Ed

I made a post. I’m not sure if it went through. If it did, lol! Sorry for the double posts.

I found this thread on the AW forums.
http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=992

It’s nearly 50 pages long and it seems the consensus is that Tate might be a vanity. Still, you should take a gander for yourself.

Also, the best way to find sales from a prospective agent? Is the easiest way–ask. An agent shouldn’t be shy about revealing what they’ve sold. If they are that might be sort of a red flag.

You also can buy a subscription to publisher’s weekly. I’m too cheap or really there’s other things I rather buy.

-Ed

I’m not sure why WordPress flagged your comments as spam, but it did. Weird.

Thanks for the tips. I may check out those forums.

I agree – I’m too cheap to buy a subscription to Publisher’s Weekly.

I have to say that I have done some pretty extensive research on both the self publishing and traditional publishing worlds. I think what you’ll find (even if you review links posted in previous comments) is that the only issue anyone really has with Tate, centers around the author’s investment. The fact of the matter is that from what I found, there is only one other company which would fall into the “self/vanity/whatever-you-want-to-call-it” definition would come close to offering any of the marketing services offered by Tate and that is Mill City Press. I had contacted Mill City and the “investment” they would require for me ended up being around $12,000 and that was just for the first run. My summation of Tate is that they are a sort of hybrid publisher. They are recognized by the book buyers (B&N) as a large press, the same as the rest of the traditional publishers. In addition, many of the negative comments on Tate are outdated and all seem to center around the 2004 and 2005 timeframe. Tate actually gives first time authors an opportunity to have their manuscript considered on its merits, as opposed to the traditional world where you still have to know someone to even get your manuscript in the door. I view it as the American Idol of the publishing world. At least you’ll have a shot at getting an honest opinion. What’s more, since you’re considering self-publishing, you are going to be making some type of an investment. My personal opinion is that I would rather invest my money with a company that is going to give me the best chances of earning it back (and actually having it refunded back) as opposed to a company that really will expect you to do it all on your own. Try this, list out all of the services that Tate offers and price out what the other self-pub companies would charge you for those same services (that is if they are even offered which in many cases they aren’t) and you’ll see that the investment they require, is actually a really good deal. Additionally, if you are successful on your first book, the standard traditional publishing contract comes into play and no author investment is required. Oh, and I’m sure you’re wondering…I have submitted a manuscript for a children’s picture book to Tate. Actually, it was 5 weeks ago yesterday that it was submitted. Whether or not they choose to publish it, my opinion will remain the same.

Thanks for your comment.

I did request more info from Tate, like I mentioned in my post, and I began reviewing it when it arrived for more information. The only thing I was concerned about was the author investment. My only problem with the investment is that I haven’t got that kind of money. I’m not sure how much I’m considering self-publishing. Right now I’m barely considering publishing at all, just doing research.

That said, I tend to agree with you. Tate seems more legit than some of the other companies I’ve seen. I wish you luck in your submission process. If all goes well, feel free to come back and let me know. I’m always looking for author success stories.

Hi Rae

I thought I’d drop you a line to let you know that my manuscript was accepted by Tate Publishing. I scoured numerous legal sites to try to find a flaw in the contract and there was nothing that would cause a red flag to go up. From rights to royalties, it’s a pretty stand up deal. I’ll check in from time to time to let you know how it’s going.

Jennifer,

That’s great news! Congratulations! I’m glad everything’s legit and going well for you. And thank you so much for letting me know! I’d love to hear how it goes for you. Maybe I’ll even buy a copy of your book when it’s published and do a review. 🙂

I’m glad that Tate is working out so well. I’ll have to do a reevaluation of my assessment, I suppose. Thanks again for letting me know.

I just got an email from Tate Publishing saying that my manuscript was in review, and asking for more information from me, so they knew I still wished to proceed with publishing. I assume thats good?

However, after looking around online I got a little skiddish about Tate, because people were saying that the authors investment is a sure fire sign of a scam. Being new to writing and publishing, I have no idea what I’m doing. My book is a memoir and I would really rather my life story go to a solid publisher vs a shady one that wont end up in stores. Also, I have no way short of taking out a loan to pay that investment, and im going to college in 3 months! Should I reply and say I wish to proceed????

confused,
-Amber

Hey Amber,

I’m sorry I couldn’t get back to you sooner, but I’ve been busy with work. I read your comment and checked out your blog just to see what else you’ve got going on. So you’re getting ready to go to college, and obviously that’s a huge commitment both financially and time-wise.

Because you’ve got a lot going on, what I would do is talk to Tate. I’ve had one reviewer whose book was accepted for publication by Tate Publishing, and she was very pleased. She checks in occasionally with me on where she is, and I think it’s great for her that things are working out so well. On the other hand, as you saw in my post, Tate does seem a little fishy. But if you’re really still interested in getting published with them, contact them on the phone. Don’t just email them, talk to them on the phone and make a list of all the questions you have.

Here are a few questions I’d ask them: does the author investment have to be in one lump sum payment? How much extra involvement do you expect from authors in terms of traveling to book signings or other publicity items? Does Tate support authors who want to help make their books successful but find themselves strapped financially? Are you going to be required to create some of your own publicity via websites and other marketing ploys you’ll be asked to attempt?

Perhaps you already know the answers to these questions. But what questions you do have should probably be directed to Tate. I can’t guarantee all my information is accurate about Tate. I can only explain my own limited experiences. But if you talk to them and feel comfortable about it, maybe the steep investment will seem worth the risk. If I were you, I’d reply that I was still interested in proceeding but had some concerns I wanted addressed before moving forward financially.

I hope that helps! And please keep me informed. I’m interested in hearing how this works out for you. I’ll check out your blog as well. Thanks for stopping by!

-Rae

Hi Rae!

I hope all is well!

Amber, hopefully I can help answer some of the questions you have.

As you can see from my previous post on March 20th, I truly did my homework before submitting to Tate and continue to do more research to this day! I wanted to make sure I knew exactly what I was getting into.
First, congratulations for making it this far into the review with them. At this point, however, it isn’t a done deal just yet. My personal opinion is that the questions they are asking you to reply to are a “test” of sort in terms of how you would respond to questions about your book in media interviews. [My “professional” background is in sales and marketing and many authors fail to remember that books make “best sellers” lists and not “best written” lists so you really do need marketing (much of which is coordinated by Tate), sales (the responsibility of the author no matter who publishes your book), and of course, a well written product].
I would caution you about those who cry “scam” when they hear about the author investment. Tate has simply developed a business model that is different from any other model out there. The fact of the matter is that like it or hate it, it works. Yes, most “traditional” publishers don’t require an author investment but in all honesty, the likelihood of even getting your manuscript in front of somebody to get it accepted is minimal at best. (Of course, I’m sure you already know this.)
From a business perspective, it makes a lot of sense because they are mitigating their risk. They want to make sure that once they have invested their time and money into your book that you are going to reciprocate and work as hard as you can to sell your books when at signings and other marketing events that they schedule for you. Dangling the carrot of the 5,000th copy sold to get your money refunded (which also results in Tate publishing subsequent works by you at no cost to you), is their “insurance policy”.
The people that are crying “scam” are those who are afraid of the paradigm shift that Tate could cause for them in the publishing world. In my opinion, they are true traditionalists and are afraid of change and anything that challenges the status quo. Have any of the authors that have worked with Tate had anything negative to say about them? (Actually, I believe I did see one complaint that hadn’t been resolved at the time I read about it but the complaint itself sounded a bit fishy.) I checked the BBB rating and they have an A+ rating. The few complaints that had been made had been resolved. If you are still on the fence in terms of their reputation, I suggest you set up a Google Alert for Tate Publishing. I have one set up and still monitor it daily because if I were to come across something that made me nervous, I would want to investigate it further.
The Google Alert will provide you with an additional benefit; it will allow you to see much of what Tate does for their authors as you’ll see press releases, blog tours, media interviews, etc. By the way, most of those are set up by your marketing representative with Tate which for me was a huge plus. Because I work a full time job in corporate America and my husband and I are raising two young daughters, I wouldn’t have the time to be able to get all of those things scheduled on my own.
As far as the point that Rae brings up on marketing events, they will set them up but once you get there, it’s your job to sell the book. If they are going to ask you to travel for book fairs outside of your immediate geographical area, they will cover the cost of the travel.
Also, I wouldn’t set a marker of your success as your book being on store shelves. Tate does present their books to buyers at B&N like all the big players do (vanity presses DO NOT), however, in today’s electronic age, it would be recommended to spend time blogging, setting up a FB Fan Page, and a Twitter account which are all completely manageable marketing tools both monetarily speaking and in terms of time, which can help you drive people to your website and hopefully generate sales. (I suggest reading Social Media Marketing for Dummies as it will give you more details on how to do this effectively.) Many people now make their purchases via sites like Amazon so they can make one less trip to the store and therefore, the brick and mortar store sales now account for a very small piece of the pie.
The financial question is a tough one and Rae is right. Reply with responses to the other questions and let them know that you are ready to begin publishing immediately but have some questions about the payment of the author investment. They might even have some ideas on how to raise the money. As I’m thinking about it, perhaps you set up your own raffle or look for family members/teachers/businesses to donate money to your cause. You never know but you might get more support than you anticipate.
If your goals are beyond simply seeing your book in print and you really do want to give this a go, I say either go with Tate or try to get an agent to shop your book around to another traditional publisher. Keep in mind the challenges you will face with a traditional publisher even if your manuscript is accepted for publication. We could get into a discussion on Tate and the advantages they offer over traditional publishers but I believe that would be a conversation for another day.
Based on your circumstances, I wouldn’t go near self publishing or vanity presses. If you self publish or choose to go with a vanity press (two very different things, by the way), you will literally have to be out there every single day selling unit by unit with little to no marketing support. That works for some. As a matter of fact, a good friend of mine is doing it successfully, however, she also has book readings scheduled Monday through Friday and is traveling to schools all over the state.
Whatever you decide to do, I’m sure it will be the best decision for you. Wishing you the best of luck!

PS
My book is scheduled to start production in July. First it will go through copy editing, then concept editing, layout, illustrations, and cover design. Thus far, everything has been on the up and up!

Hi, I signed a contract with Tate and my book was released on May 25th of this year. You can check out my book on http://fatquarter.wordpress.com.

The staff were very wonderful to work with and my book being a children’s picture book…and my first…I have only good things to say about the process and the end result.

Me again…my book is now available directly through Tate or on Amazon.com…or through any large or small book store. The author investment??? A scam??? Matter of opinion as far as I am concerned. Getting a book published will cost you money no matter how you get it done. Unless you are a writer with an excellent track record…thousands of books sold..you will have to pay someone something. With Tate they have editors, illustrators, designers, audio, and many many more staff who work with the author…if I were to self publish…I would have to pay to get all of that done for me…unless of course I wanted to commit to making my book a full time adventure. This book has become my new hobby and so instead of buying hundreds of dollars worth of quilting fabrics…I spend it on my book instead. No regrets here…Sally

I received a contract from TATE a couple of years ago, but didn’t respond back, because I was undecided on Tate and whether or not it was all a scam. There are just too many out there. I didn’t want a self-publisher, and didn’t want to spend the upfront money they required at the time. Recently they did send me an email saying their contracts have drastically changed with no author fees but did require the authors to have marketing reps. I’m still not sure on this company. There is good and bad, seems more bad on this company.

Hi Julie –

I hadn’t heard about the new contracts with Tate. That must be something that happened very recently because I was in contact with them and scouring their website just last year. I might have to look into it because I think marketing reps sounds just like an agent, which might put Tate into the category of a “traditional” publisher again.

I’m seeing some success stories from Tate, but I don’t know yet what to think. I’ll do more research on them when I’m ready to publish my own book (not anytime soon, of course) and see what I think, but this bit about marketing reps has me curious. Good luck on getting your own work published, and have fun wading through the propaganda!

Sally,

I read your comments on Tate Publishing. I have been contacted by them and I am a wreck. I saw so much about it being a scam and then I came across this post. I would love to hear more. Your book looks great.

Leslie,

I was scared also…is it a scam?..What exactly identifies something as a scam. If two people are getting what they want out of the deal…is that a scam??? I worried about going for it with Tate…then spoke with someone else who went with them and suddenly felt relieved and J signed the contract.
I suppose if you don’t have the money…Tate is not for you…but then…do you have a really really fantastic…possible best seller of a book???? Do you think it is going to sell in the hundreds of thousands as it is so good? If your answer is yes…then keep submitting it I suppose to other publishers you are more comfortable with. Publishers are all about making money…and rightfully so…they are a business..they are there to find the books they feel will make them money..one way or another..
I don’t consider Tate to be a scamming…rather…they provide a service…a good service…and no service is ever free. I don’t know if I will ever get my author investment back selling 5ooo books…that’s a lot of books to sell…but for me…I am fine with that. I will probably be able to sell enough to cover it. Very few actually make money with writing…As for me…it’s a hobby and I have never yet found a hobby that is cheap!!
Sally

Hi…about Tate…I am one of their contracted authors and yes I paid an author investment. It is going to cost you money to get a book published in any fashion…the difference with Tate is that…if you sell enough books..5,000, you will receive your author investment back. Now I am aware that 5,000 is a pretty steep amount to sell…but I must say..it is a wonderful incentive to get out there and market your book. With Tate I worked with the following, editor, designer,illustrator, marketing staff, audio staff and voices, and more. I am very satisfied with their services….and…yes Tate is a Christian Publisher and has beliefs they inform you about…however…they never ask what your beliefs are which makes for a very comfortable working relationship. I would go with them again.

Hi Sally –

Thanks for the comment on Tate. I’ve realized not everyone has a bad experience with Tate; otherwise they wouldn’t be in business anymore. And you’re right: it does cost you something to get published. I don’t know that I would go so far as to say that you have to pay to get a book in print. If you can get an agent who pushes your book the right way, you still have the chance of doing publishing the old-fashioned way.

But I do agree that it’s becoming harder and harder to secure agents, get publishing contracts with the big boys, and in essence, become a full-fledged author.

As far as Tate goes, I’m still up in the air about it. I have nothing worth sending to anyone, agents, publishers, or Tate, but I’m always on the lookout for a good deal. Have you seen results on your publishing so far? Or is your book still in the process of being published? I’ll check out your blog, but I do wish you success in your endeavor!

Hi Rae

Just checking in again! Happy New Year! I hope all is well.

Well, the time has finally come. The official release date for my book has been set for April 5th. I will, however, have pre-release copies that I will be autographing for anyone who is interested. I have set up a FaceBook Fan Page that you can check out at http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Jennifer-Lynn-Pereyra-Author-Page/113090082092081

If you know of anyone that might be interested in the topic, might be interested in seeing the quality of a Tate product, or wants to get an honest opinion from a businesswoman on her experiences with Tate, they can contact me through my author fan page or at jennifer.pereyra@yahoo.com

Wishing you all the best in 2011!

Jennifer

Hi Jennifer –

Congratulations on getting your book out there! That’s fantastic news! And I’m glad to hear everything has been going well with Tate Publishing. I definitely have to admit to some awe at anyone who gets a book published, and I’m proud of every new author who goes out there and gets it done.

I’ll check out your Facebook fan page when I have a free moment for sure, and I was wondering if you’d allow me to write a post on you and your success with Tate at some point. I’d ideally like to interview you, perhaps via email if you’d be up for it, and I would include a link to your fan page and other websites to help you get some traffic as well.

The post I made on Tate might have been too harsh, and I’d love a chance to rectify it by sharing a story of an author who has enjoyed her experience with Tate. If you get a moment and wouldn’t mind doing an interview with me, I think it would be great. Either way, good luck on your book; I’ll certainly be looking for it in stores when I get a chance!

Happy New Year!

– Rae

Jennifer,

I have just been contacted by Tate. I got online and saw all the negative things. I saw your posts and would love to find out more. I do not have much money. I would love any feedback you can give me. Congratulations, you must be on top of the world.

Leslie

Rae just posted a Q&A she did with me. Check it out here https://rrbookwyrm.wordpress.com/2011/03/31/introducing-jennifer-pereyra-and-her-take-on-tate/

If you have more questions, feel free to reach out! I’d be happy to answer them!

Jen

Rae

Thank you so much for your kind words! They are much appreciated. I would love the opportunity to do an interview for you. Feel free to reach out to me via e-mail at Jennifer.Pereyra@yahoo.com so we can coordinate the details.

Warmest regards,
Jennifer

I’ve just received a call from Tate. They’ve accepted my manuscript, said they loved it, and want to start the contract.

Thing is, I don’t have the 4 G’s to do this. I’ll see what they say about that, and if there are any other options.

I’ll be sure to return here and update on progress.

I didn’t have the 4 g either. They gave me an option to pay half at the start and the other half 6 month later. That worked for me. Sal

They haven’t called me back yet.

I don’t even have half that price. The way I see it is that if they think that my book is compelling, and they believe they can sell it, the 4 G’s will not matter so much to them. They’ll work with it in what ever way they can.

Jonathan

I am responding to your post not specifically about anything to do with Tate per se, but about a misconception I feel you may have about publishing in general. Publishers, traditional or otherwise, don’t actually sell your book. You are the one that is responsible for selling it. They will help with the marketing in terms of setting up events for you to go to but at the end of the day, you are the one that is in front of the customers and it is every author’s job to convince people to actually buy his/her book. This is particularly true when you are a first time author with no built in marketability like that of a celebrity.

Jen

[…] I’ll be following up on my previous Tate Publishing post with some new information. I’ve interviewed Tate author Jennifer Pereyra, whose new […]

Johnathan…good luck.Let me know how it went. I would like to do a second book but don’t have the money for that so I am interested to hear how it goes for you
Sally at 3rdwave@mts.net

Jennifer, I have learned that this is true—that the author is the best selling agent of the book. At the same time, publishers are able to get those books into stores and therefore build the author’s credibility. Publishers are also to communicate with buyers that the author would otherwise not be able to communicate with, especially first time authors who don’t have a doctorate or Ph.D.

There are many benefits to having a publisher pushing your work. But I also understand that if an author has no desire to do anything for the success of his book, then it’s not likely to sell much. We should never bank on our books automatically making us rich. That’s pure fantasy. I’m willing to work for the success of my own book. I’ll do what ever it takes to get it in front of people. From what I understand, Tate does not get their books into physical stores. If that is true, it is sad.

I’m looking forward to reading your posts about Tate. Please let us know when you begin publishing those articles!

Jonathan

Interesting that you ask about the bookstores. I actually had a conversation with my marketing rep just the other day about that exact issue. I knew that Tate met with the buyers from B&N on a regular basis and was inquiring as to how they determine which titles they present. It was explained that they meet with them on a quarterly basis and all of their titles released during that time period are presented to the buyers. They are usually in NYC for two to three days.

Hope that helps!

Jen

One thing the person I talked to at Tate said was that if I connect with a store, Tate will communicate with them about stocking the book in the store. As an author, I won’t have to handle that process, Tate will. But, I have to make the initial connection. I thought that was pretty good.

She also said that Tate would market any events that I schedule.

[…] I’m bringing it back up with a twist. I know a lot of people out there were interested in my original post talking about Tate, so I’m going to revamp it with updated information and begin a series of […]

Hey All!

I know many of you have reached out to me personally and I am always glad to help answer any questions you may have about Tate. Rae did just post the first of a series that she is doing to follow up on this post so I encourage you to head over and check it out

https://rrbookwyrm.wordpress.com/2011/03/28/the-tate-publishing-question/

Jen

I’m a new author as well and have been contacted by Tate regarding my book. My sister-in-law published her first book with AuthorHouse after much deliberation and knew that she was going through a self-publisher. She paid out for the book to be published, but she decided it was worth it because she tours the Renaissance Festivals and will be selling her book there. Authorhouse also made her book available on Amazon.com (at $20!). So there seems to be quite the range in publishing options.

Although I am not crazy about the idea of paying for a publicist, I believe the investment may be worth it. One of our local stores just did a book signing with a Tate author, although I have not checked her book out, and the advertisement for the book signing was all over Facebook.

I have tried traditional publishers as well and after my seventh rejection letter I decided to try a non-traditional route. I have thick skin, but not that thick and I have been dreaming of being a published author for years. Maybe it’s cheating to do it this way, or fool-hardy. I don’t know, only time can tell.

I’m not 100% sure yet if I will go with them, but one thing I have been told time and time again by my friends who work in the marketing dept at Pacific Press Publishing is that “getting your name out is key.” In other words, once you are published, it is a lot easier to continue getting published.

Am I willing to put in the time to market my book? Absolutely. If I were to be published, even if I had to pay a fee, I would be all over the internet advertising my book and calling up everyone in my local phone book to tell them it was out. Five thousand books may seem like a lot to sell, but if you are internet savvy it can be done.

Anyway, that said, I will keep a running commentary on my blog about my experience if you are interested. http://www.coffeeambassador.blogger.com.

I’ve researched Tate Publishing as well, and found the majority of their information on their website to be misleading. I’ve seen a number of posts/articles on the Internet of complaints against the company, whether for a lack of promised marketing or a breached contract. From my understanding, Tate accepts the majority of manuscripts they receive, and then charge a $4,000 fee to the author in order to publish. Tate claims to have ties to bookstores like Barnes & Noble and such, yet none of these carry Tate’s books. Tate is a self-publishing company, despite their adamant denials.

Now, some people are happy with Tate, but I would speculate that 90% of the opinions I’ve seen of Tate, clients or not, are of dissatisfaction and resentment. Don’t trust the company’s website. Research other areas and get customers’ opinions, not the company’s.

I published with Tate in 2009. Won’t do it again. They kept their promises and fulfilled their contract but I feel I wasted $4,000. According to their contract, they have first crack at any future books once an author signs with them. I submitted my next work (as required) and promptly refused to sign again when offered another contract. The first book I published with them was a good lesson that I learned well. Since refusing to sign a second time with Tate, I’ve approached other publishing houses (about 20-25) with query letters and proposals. I’ve had a couple houses interested in seeing a few chapters. It’s a long process trying to find a reputable publisher, receiving rejection letters, and trying to get my foot in the door but I’m enjoying every minute of it–even the rejections (well, kind of)– because this is the life of a real writer. I will NEVER pay to be published again.

I just received a “contract” from Tate, and am concerned about what I am reading from others. I know that bad publicity travels much faster than good, and after having self-published a book, I can see how there could be some disgruntled authors who go in blindly on a publishing deal. That having been said, from what I can glean so far, I’m thinking that Tate is more of a “Joint venture” type of company wherein they work closely with the author to promote the work. We both have to do our part. Since the writing industry is changing so greatly with many book stores closing due to E-books and other things, I can’t help but wonder if getting an agent is not a thing of the past? As far as the royalty rate, I’m thinking the 15% is pretty low, but I’ll delve into that with them some more because they did say that was negotiable. Anyway, if you have learned anything more since you posted this blog, I would love to hear from you. My website is http://www.chicklitpower.com and my em is evinda@chicklitpower.com
Blessings
Evinda

I have not been offered a contract yet, nor am I sure that I will except. However in a recent email I was told since that my publicity fee would be refunded after 1000 books because my manuscript is a picture book.
Still even with this I am not sure this is the right fit for me will just have to see.

Cheryl

Well I was offered that contract. Still don’t know… I have the money…that’s not the issue. I am checking on how much a publicist would cost. I’m so confused. It sound like everybody get a contract 😦

Well I have had a little experience with Tate Publishing myself, i submitted a manuscript of a short children’s story and they offered me a contract unfortunatley there is an upfront marketing and publicist fee that i am not able to pay so no contract for me. However the company is very informative if you simply pick up the phone and call them or email them, and they get back to you in a very timely matter and are very personable, if and when I am able to pay the fee i will definatley go back to Tate and hopefully do business with them.

Well Rae, I had a book signing and “they forgot” to tell me… not once, but twice. Lets not forget how, “they forgot” to tell me about a book reading where 30 children came to hear and the author knew nothing about it and it was advertised by the store in the newspaper!!!!!!!!!!! Hmmmmmmmmm oh, oh, I ordered books for my, “they forgot again!” other book signing, that I had to pay for… and guess what? THEY FORGOT TO SEND THEM TO ME… NOT ONCE! BUT TWICE… Oh lets not forget how I had another book signing and they forgot to TELL THE STORE THAT I HAD A BOOK SIGNING! MADE AN IDIOT OF ME!!!!!!!

Then when you call to talk to them, you get put on hold for over 10 mts. and suddenly, “they have the person on the phone lie that so and so is not there yet I hear them tell the person on the phone to say they are not there!!!” Lets not forget I was dumb enought to dish out over $3,990 dollars. And in three years? Nothing except anger at myself for being so stupid. So I am sure you work for them and you want to know… I am seeing more and more complaints on line…

Hello Rae, Jen, and all others,
I started from the very beginning of this discussion and read to the very end, checking out every link and reading every blog. Thank you SO much for all your comments. Tate sent me a contract last week. I was about to sign with them when a family member sent me some websites blasting Tate. I read everything they had to say, I read everything you guys had to say. I think Tate is for me! Wish me luck, I’ll let you know how it goes?


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

