Wednesday Edits – On Read-Throughs

Posted on March 17, 2010. Filed under: Editing, My Writing, Uncategorized, writing | Tags: , , , |

It’s time for your favorite and mine: Wednesday edits.

Wednesday Edits is a series of posts for those aspiring authors who wish to share their tips and tricks of the self-editing trade. I invite anyone who wants to pick up the series on their own blogs to snag the button and link back to this page. In addition, please let me know by commenting on this blog if you pick up the button for use, and provide a link to the specific post.

I’ll put a list of rules up later. For now, the gist is simple: on Wednesdays, you will be writing about editing. Post stories, tips, and other editing-themed items, and let the rest of the world read your thoughts on self-editing–anything from novels to school essays.

Moving right along, then – here is my bit to contribute for today.

Editing a novel is slow, tedious work. I’m finding that out now, and it’s one of the more interesting things I’ve discovered. I’m not even halfway through the first read-through and basic edit, and I don’t know when I’ll get there. But I am trying.

So far I’ve learned that my editing technique is pretty simple.

1. Read the chapter.

2. Use Scrivener’s annotation function to annotate red-pen notes to myself about continuity or excessive scenes/paragraphs that need rewriting and fixing in later drafts.

3. Catch grammatical errors, misspellings, and unclear sentences during the read-through. Fix those as I go.

Pretty simple, eh? It sounds easy enough, and it’s been a delight to reread my writing since it’s been such a long time since I wrote those first chapters. I’d forgotten a lot of what I wrote, and rereading is always good for me.

So I have a question for you: do you tend to hate what you wrote when you reread it? Or are you on the opposite end of the spectrum – do you love your writing? I’m curious because most of what I’ve read in the NaNoWriMo forums talks about hating the editing process mainly because the authors dislike their writing.

Personally I’m enjoying every minute of my reread. Even the parts that need editing are a delight because I get to pick and choose what would work better, how to rework the sentences, and what should be rewritten in its place. At the same time, though, I honestly hate to edit my writing this way.

I may be the most biased self-editor ever. I love my writing to death and hate changing any of it, unless of course it’s a misplaced word or grammatical error. But shortening, tightening, losing some of the verbiage? That’s akin to blasphemy.

So to conclude this little ditty, I have one piece of advice.

Editing Tip # 707: If you’re editing something a bit smaller than a novel-sized work, consider using this tip from my old high school English teacher: Instead of reading over your work from beginning to end, start at the end and read up to the beginning. This keeps you from reading what you meant to write instead of what you did write by forcing you to read it differently. It works well in two ways.

First, it allows you to catch grammatical errors from sentence to sentence. Second, it helps you make everything cohesive. If the last sentence and the sentence above it don’t allow for clarity and understanding, you might want to work on rewriting.

I’ve used this technique especially well on college essays. It helps me catch problem areas every time. I haven’t tried it on my novel. If I do, I’ll wait till after I do the rewrites and do a scene at a time. It might drive me batty, but I’ll see if it works.

That’s my tip for the day. You can take it or leave it, but it’s a fun one to do in practice. Have you ever tried reading one of your college essays from end to beginning?

-Rae-

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Wednesday Edits – On Read-Throughs”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

I’m like you Rae. I enjoy reading my work after writing it, but while writing it I feel like everything is crap. It’s natural. At least, that’s what I gather from the absolute write forums.

I like the reading in reverse tip. I do miss errors when reading from beginning. Because I’m reading it how I *think* it’s written not how it actually is.

I don’t really give advice. I know writers hear the same thing over and over again. No adverbs. No dialogue tags. Don’t use “to be”….

I just say a story must have the 3 “C’s”

Conflict, Continuity, and Clarity.

Every story has two opposing forces that collide.

Every story needs to be consistent in time, place, and character. This way the reader can see the transformation the protagonist goes through by the end of the novel.

Every story must clear, not in themes, but readable on some level so the reader knows there reading the beginning, the middle, and then end. The reader just must understand the nature of the story.

That’s pretty much all I got, heh!

-Ed

Also, do you mind if I use your badge?

Sorry for the double post.

-Ed

No problem – feel free to use the badge. πŸ˜€ I figured I’d offer it for use.

I guess I didn’t really think about my writing being crap as I was writing it. To be honest, all I was thinking that I had to keep writing. Partially because of NaNo, obviously, but partially because I really thought it was a good story and deserved to be told. I guess I’m weird all around. Lol. I like the writing and the rereading. I might not like the rewriting part, though… we’ll see.

And I like your 3 C’s. They’re good to remember.

Is it terrible that I like my adverbs? πŸ˜› Hehe… I’m trying to pare them down.

Rae. None of the rules are really”rules”. I mean Stephanie meyer doesn’t exactly have the wit of mark twain,but that didn’t keep her from being successful.

Rules help clear the fog so to speak, but they don’t lead the way. The most important job is to tell the story. So edit, submit, and write another book until you can no longer be ignored. Lol. Sry. For the early post I’m typing on my iPod. I’m going to so some more interview roulette.

Thx for the badge. I’ll be sure to “pin” it on once I get home.

-Ed

I liked your reading in reverse tip. Another one that I’ve found helpful is reading aloud. I catch more errors that way than when I read silently to myself.

LOL It’s funny how completely opposite we are. I HATE reading my own (novel) work before I’ve edited. I love writing it though.

I’m terrible at editing my (novel length) work. I have trouble seeing the whole picture, forget things, etc. But I love trimming, tigtening, pairing down on both novel length and short stories. It makes me feel like a sculptor or something.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

