Blog About It – Ed Wilson

Posted on March 4, 2010. Filed under: Blogs, Reviews | Tags: , , |

I don’t really have a theme for Thursdays. That’s okay. I’m going to do a blog review today because I’m enjoying reading some blogs, and perhaps I can find new blogs to read by searching out some of them. Before I do, though, I’m going to review some of my favorites that I’ve found through the month of February.

With no further ado, let me introduce, for your viewing pleasure, Ed Wilson. Find her in my blogroll or here, and you’ll be thrust into the wit, insight, and information she peppers in her posts. She is the author of the website “Her Name Is Ed Wilson.” In the interest of full disclosure, Ed also has a Twitter that she’s begun. If you find her posts interesting, you can follow her there. On Twitter, Ed goes by @SheisEdWilson, unless of course, I made some mistake in that name. (Sorry if I did, Ed!)

E.D. Wilson (but you can call her Ed) blogs about all things writing, reading, video gaming, opining, and other various topics. I’ve been reading her posts from early February on, and I’m really intrigued. Her voice is refreshing, full of humor, and worth listening to, in my humble opinion.

Living in the Southeast, she’s currently working in a family business and among the masses who are trying to grasp some form of employment. Though she’s making money, so she’s doing better than I am currently! A college grad, Ed has visions of one day becoming a published author and wowing her family and friends with her writerly credentials.

The author of There Are No Gods For Arthropods, Ed recently submitted her manuscript to Amazon’s Breakthrough Novel Awards contest and made it through the first round of cuts. It’s all very exciting, and I’m rooting her on.

To give you an idea of what she writes, recent posts have featured the TV show Chuck, Dr. Seuss’s 106th birthday, and Craigslist. It’s a fairly eclectic mix that’s light-hearted and fun to read. And, unlike me, Ed’s posts don’t go on for days and days. πŸ˜€ (I admit; she has some longer posts, but they’re definitely worth the read!)

She announced today that she’ll be moving to a three-day-a-week posting schedule and plans to post on a Monday-Wednesday-Friday schedule. So if you’re looking for a new blog, I’d suggest trying out Ed’s posts. They’re fresh and intriguing, and she always asks great questions.

With that said, I’m not sure I did an adequate job on my first blog review, but it was fun, and I’ve been wanting to review some of my friends’ blogs since I think they’re awesome. Be looking forward to more reviews in the future! And, while I’m thinking about it, does anyone have any blogs they follow that are just amazing? Let me know; I’m on the lookout for new material, especially if the blog focuses more on writing about books, writing, editing, publishing, or things of that nature!

-Rae-

P.S. If I feature your blog in a review, don’t think I’m looking for a similar favor. I just want to get some good names out there for people to read. πŸ˜€

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

7 Responses to “Blog About It – Ed Wilson”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

Wow, thanks Rae. Thank you for embarrassing me! lol!!! j/k

This is really nice. When I read your post in my inbox, I thought, “Is Rae really wasting more than 200 words on my shabby home in cyberspace???”

Don’t hold your breath for the ABNA thing, trust me I appreciate the support, but I have a 1/4th chance of making it to the quarterfinals.

Only 250 will be forging to the next round.

I’m actually pondering doing one post a day.

Oh and trust me I’m poor. Dirt poor. I live in the middle of nowhere so the job hunt is scarce. I was speaking purely in “hypotheticals” in my post today..as in *if* I get hired. You know? HA!!!

Really thank you for this, it was a nice confidence boost.

What about you? I thought you were applying to a few places yourself?

-Ed

Well, you at least got through the first round – that’s worth something, right? πŸ˜€ And you never know how they’ll judge you in the pile that’s left.

Yes, I did “waste” more than 200 words on your home. LOL. I enjoyed myself, too. Granted, it’s probably not a proper review, but I really couldn’t care less. I’m having fun.

Yeah, I am applying to a few places, but it’s really kind of crazy. Actually, I’ve been applying to teach ESL classes in South Korea of all places (and jobs). I’ve gotten connected with a representative of a company over there, and now I’m in the process of gathering materials. I’ve debated about blogging about it, but it’s not exactly ‘writerly.’ I’m also considering the Peace Corps and the Journeyman Program (which not many people have heard about – it’s a Christian mission program that lasts 2 years). Perhaps my goals are too high? πŸ˜€

Too high? Not at all Rae.

That’s what blog readers really want to know, about the blogger. I mean we can get news from anywhere. But we visit blogs because we like to hear *your* opinion. It’s sort of the same reason people check Perez Hilton if some celebrity dish is going down. Like Tiger Woods for example, you can read it in AP or you can read it from snarky Perez. Not that I’m comparing you two. lol!

I’m glad to hear that you’re planning what you may want to do in the next few years. I considered joining the Peace Corp myself (even the air force at one point). I once knew someone who went to teach ESL in China. There’s actually a lot of programs like that.

Journeyman sounds interesting too. Not only will you help people, but you’ll also not have to worry what you’re going to do for the next two years, lol!

Well, whatever you decide and whatever happens, I definitely had fun blogging alongside you.

-Ed

Some good blogs I follow are Galleycat, Nathan Bransford, and Omnivoracious. But if you go to Nathan’s blog you’ll find a long blogroll full of other agents/publishers in the industry.

You might already know these, but it’s the best I got, lol!

-Ed

I’m checking out Ed Wilson’s blog. She had an interesting article about self publishing vs. traditional publishing. Thanks for the recommendation. πŸ™‚

Thanks for info, I am always looking for something interesting on the Internet, i want to send
photos for your blog

Hey very nice blog!! Man .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also…


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

