Writing about Reading about Writing

Posted on February 20, 2010. Filed under: Books, Editing, Musings, Science Fiction | Tags: , , , , , |

I’ve been wanting to make this title for a post ever since I first thought about getting out some writing-related books to read. Of course, I had to hold off until I officially started reading one of said books, and that wasn’t until after I have purchased one of said books. Confused yet? So am I.

Anyway, I’m currently in the middle of a reading spree of books that might possibly help me in editing my novel in March. I have no idea whether they’ll be of great help or not, but I’m going to try them and see. I’m looking forward to some of them; others are pleasure reads that I can finish shortly and move onto the next book.

So my pleasure read at the moment is Fusion Fire by Kathy Tyers. Again this is the second book in the Firebird Trilogy. It’s a good book so far, and since I’d already started reading it, I’m picking it up where I stopped reading. It’s not that hard to get back into, and I hope I’ll finish it soon.

As far as writing-related books go, I’m reading Orson Scott Card’s How To Write Science Fiction & Fantasy after purchasing it the other night with my dad. So far it’s had more emphasis on writing sci-fi, which I can understand given Card’s background. (Though he has written for both genres.) However, he offers a lot of insight on world creation and other elements.

It’s a five chapter, short book, but it’s making me think a lot about my own world. What is it that makes it a fantasy? What is it that could stand more rules and structure? What requires a bit more development? These are all questions I’m thinking about as I read Card’s book.

I like his style. So far I’ve been pretty impressed, and now I’m kind of wanting to read Ender’s Game and Hart’s Hope as he mentions both those novels in the book. He uses them as examples for his world creation process. I’ve never read any of his novels before, but I’m thinking once things settle down and I’ve shaved off more of my reading list, I’ll invest in a few of his novels and see how he writes fiction.

At this point in the game, I’m pretty sure he’ll impress.

But I’m going to have to end this little post because it’s been a crazy, hectic day, and I have quite a bit to do. I have a choir rehearsal for a concert in less than thirty minutes, am trying to speed up the bake time on tamale pie, and need to get my contacts out because they’re bugging me.

Oh, and I went to the home and garden fair today with my dad. It was really lovely, and I managed to purchase some seeds to start an herb garden. I also got two planters: one has lavender that you sow yourself, and the other has peppermint that’s getting ready to sprout. I’m rather excited about it myself. I got thyme, basil, and Italian parsley seeds as well. We’ll see how it works!

Comments? Thoughts? Snide remarks? Let me know!

-Rae-

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Writing about Reading about Writing”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

I’ve never read Card, but Noah Lukeman’s “The First Five Pages” is my favorite book on writing/editing. I have an editing checklist I’ve developed from this book.

Question for you: I just looked at my local library’s online catalog, and it looks like they have quite a few of Lauren Willig’s books. Is there a specific one I should start with. Are her books a series? Do they need to be read in order?

Ah, yes, her books are in a series. The first is The Secret History of the Pink Carnation. It’s the intro book, and the second is The Masque of the Black Tulip in case you decide to get two at the same time.

And I saw The First Five Pages the other night when I was looking at the books in the writing section, but I didn’t pick it up. So it provided you an editing checklist? That’s interesting. I might have to look at it sometime.

So the first book is the only one checked out of the library. It figures. 🙂

I guess I’ll put a hold on it. I’ve been intrigued ever since you compared the series to Scarlet Pimpernel.

Thanks!

Of course – it’s always the books we’re looking for that are checked out of the library, isn’t it? But I hope you enjoy it when you get a chance to read it! You’ll have to let me know what you think.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

    February 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

