Slow Post-er

Posted on February 15, 2010. Filed under: Books, Editing, reading, Science Fiction | Tags: , , , , |

This has been a rather lazy day. It’s now a little before 7:30, and I’m just getting around to posting for the day. On a side note, anyone who can tell me how to get the blasted time stamp feature changed on my WordPress account would be very helpful as it’s now saying I’m saving the draft at 12:23 a.m.

Even so, I don’t have a lot to say today. I’ve been reading all Lauren Willig all the time, but I’m considering a slight change of pace after I finish reading the current novel.

After thinking about it, I’ve realized I should probably prepare myself for the first round of editing before I get into it. So I’m going to pick up some of the books on my list that rank closer to the world of fantasy.

Next on my list to be read? I’ll be finishing off Kathy Tyers’s Firebird trilogy. It’s sci-fi, but the technical aspects of it will be helpful because I seriously need to bone up on my technology descriptions.

I’ve read Firebird and started reading Fusion Fire several months ago. For what it’s worth, this series has held my interest in a way few sci-fi series do. And I’ll be honest, I couldn’t stand C.S. Lewis’s space trilogy, consisting of Out of the Silent Planet, Perelandra, and That Hideous Strength.

I tried to read the series, but it was just too foreign to me. Perhaps I was too young; I think I first started reading it in middle school. Either way, the sci-fi did not work for me. And I’m a Lewis fan through and through.

With that said, I like Tyers’s world. It’s an odd combination of sci-fi and fantasy because the two genres can easily be said to be intertwined. I don’t care as much about the science of her world because I’m not scientifically minded. If it didn’t make sense, or, as my dad says, if the physics didn’t add up, I most likely wouldn’t notice. But I’m perfectly at ease examining her development of characters and gradual drawing of relationships. The plot helps, too, of course.

However, I’m pretty sure I’m going to make this series the last I read in the sci-fi genre. Why? The science bores me. If I have to read about how spaceships fly or the genetic qualities of a particular space gem necessary for survival on four-fifths of a galaxy’s planets, I’m going to fall asleep.

Yes, sci-fi can be well done. Yes, I’m sure it’s very interesting once you bypass all the nitty-gritty details. I’ll be perfectly happy to allow everyone’s opinions, but for myself, the next time I pick up a sci-fi book, I’d find it just as enjoyable to skip over the monotonous details and simply read for the plot.

Ah well, I suppose I’m not cut out for sci-fi. It is rather specialized. Or niche-oriented. Take your pick. Either way, I do recommend the series by Kathy Tyers. It’s lovely so far, and eventually I’ll finish it and write a review on it. (Then I’ll give the borrowed books back to Desteni.)

What is everyone else planning to read next?

-Rae-

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

8 Responses to “Slow Post-er”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

I don’t yet know what I’m planning to read next and in a week I have to do another post in my Citizen’s Literature Sunday feature. About the time stamp, that makes me laugh, because it was a pain in my rear to get that fixed, but I explained how in this post on my blog(http://tinyurl.com/yjo6es9). Shameless plug, I know. :-P. Oh, and Don’t worry post at your own pace.

Thanks for the help! It took me a bit of time to figure it out, but I finally got it. πŸ˜€

Just on a tech note, I subscribed to your blog but the link to comment back (I received the post as email) didn’t work. I’m not quite sure why.

I’ll have to disagree with you on both C.S. Lewis and scifi. I’ve tried several times to get into Lewis, and I just never saw what the big deal was. I wasn’t particularly impressed with Narnia, and I couldn’t make myself get through the Screwtape letters. I thought the premise was interesting, but it just came across as thinly veiled (read transparent) sermons to the reader. Ugh. But we’re allowed to have different tastes.

In fact, our tastes are probably exactly opposite! LOL Most fantasy (with LOTR as an exception) bores me to tears. And even LOTR had a lot of slow parts. I mean, if the movies went according to the books, they’d be 18 hours long and 75% would be them eating and singing. (Don’t get me wrong, I love still love them)

The thing about scifi is that if its done well the technology should blend in and be an integral part of the plot. If they’re info dumping, no matter what genre, its going to be boring. So yeah, pages long descriptions of technology would be boring but so would any other overly intricate info dump. The little bit of cyber punk I’ve read has been so bizarre and overly descriptive that I couldn’t get into them for the same reasons.

What I love about scifi is that you still have great plot, great characters, setting, etc. (if its well done, you can have crappy prose in any genre), but its the perfect medium for social commentary and satire. It can explore complex social and philosophical issues, and the effects of technology on society and humanity. And because it all takes place in the future or an alternate reality or between green and blue skinned aliens, you can see the commentary without anyone in particular raising hell about it. Stranger in a strange land explores how a completely alien mind would view our human culture. What better premise could you get? Flatland (technically speculative fiction/fantasy) deals with sexism, social heirarchy, castes, spirituality, and prejudice. Planet of the Damned deals with a world that seems completely horrible, threatening the existence of its peaceful neighbor who might be forced to destroy it in self defense unless they learn to understand the other’s motivations. I mean, the field is rife with deeper issues. That’s one of the things I love about scifi. And who wouldn’t want to time travel in the TARDIS? Seriously. πŸ˜€

Strange – I’m not sure why the reply back link didn’t work. I’ll try to look into that.

I think my love of Lewis just began as a kid. I haven’t read Narnia since then, but I’ve read a couple of his non-fiction works, and I really enjoyed them. I’m pretty sure I’ve read Screwtape, but I need to reread it at some point. I’ve forgotten a lot of it.

Hehe… I find it amusing that we’re so different. I suppose you wouldn’t want to read my novel then. πŸ˜› Haha! Just kidding. It’s funny, but a lot of the points you made about sci-fi are exactly the ones I would have made about fantasy. As you said, to each his own. And I’m definitely going to have to look into Flatland once I get through more of my pile of literature!

Well, like I said, I occasionally will read a fantasy if its well written, so I’d be happy to read your book. πŸ™‚

I picked up Flatland, because I wanted to learn more about higher dimensions mathematically. It’s the perfect allegory for the common person (not a math major) to understand them. But it has so many other facets, that it’s absolutely fascinating. It’s great. And it’s pretty thin too so it’s not a long read either. That little book packs a lot of punch!

To change the time, on your Dashboard, click Settings. Then change the timezone. E.g., EST is UTC -5.

You have to read C. S. Lewis’ Space Trilogy without expecting it to be sci-fi to enjoy it. Read it as fantasy. I was actually put off from reading it at first because I heard it was sci-fi, and with the exception of Jules Verne I have never really had much interest in the genre. In that light, I found Perelandra and That Hideous Strength to be what I still consider to be the best, most enlightening, most edifying books ever written.

I’m reading Chaucer next.

Thanks for the help and the comment! I suppose I could always look into reading the Space Trilogy again. Like I said, I read it as a child, so it’s been quite some time since then.

Chaucer, eh? I’ve read parts of Chaucer before, and it’s really very intriguing. Are you a classical fiction fan? It sounds that way from your comment. I’ll have to check out your blog. πŸ˜€ Thanks again for the comment!

Classics in general, yes. I’m big on English Lit and Philosophy. I read a lot of Classical (i.e., Greek and Latin) and Medieval Literature: Plato, Aristotle, Homer, Virgil, Aeschylus, Ovid, the Prose Edda, Dante, Aquinas, Chaucer, Spenser, the Gawain-poet, etc. I like Norse, Celtic, and Scandinavian mythology. As for modern fiction, I like Dickens, Lewis, Tolkien, George MacDonald, and other Oxford Christians. I don’t read much that’s hot off the press. I loved Harry Potter, but I couldn’t bring myself to finish Eragon or the Twilight Saga (although I liked the first book).


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

    February 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

