Travelocity: Acceleration by Fiction

Posted on February 14, 2010. Filed under: Books, Historical Fiction, Romance | Tags: , , , , |

Here’s my Short Sunday Blurb followed closely by my Regular Daily Post.

In church this morning, we sang a rather beautiful song that I thoroughly enjoyed. One of the lines of the song stood out to me, though, and it paints an incredible picture of what I believe.

“Love has paved the way for grace.”

It’s simple. Short. Think about it. Isn’t it true in your own life? And couldn’t it be true for others as well? Love is such a selfless action when you get right down to the nitty-gritty details of it that the only way for it not to open itself up to other things like forgiveness, generosity, and grace is for it not to truly be love.

Personally, my life has been changed by love, and I want to share it with everyone else, but here is not the place. I simply wanted to share that little line and see what you thought of it. Does it make you smile like it does me?

Okay, onto the Regular Daily Post!

In keeping with my post yesterday, I thought I’d elaborate a bit on my desire to travel. I think I accurately titled today’s post because it’s true: my love of travel and desire to see the world was only accelerated by my love of fiction.

It doesn’t make an incredible amount of sense to me now, but my historical fiction debut into the Holocaust was followed swiftly by a foray into what is one of my favorite ‘eras’ of historical fiction: Victorian and pre-Victorian fiction set in the merry old land of England.

It started easily enough with reading things by Lori Wick, specifically her Kensington Chronicles series. Through this series, I began reading a lot of the history behind England and her monarchs, and I learned to love the ages of long dresses, satin slippers, and horse-drawn carriages.

This is a fairly large jump from reading about the Holocaust, but at the very least, I was still reading about Europe at large. And I grew to adore the idea of high England with her monarchs and politicians bound by the dream of defending the realm, her Eurocentrism, her conquering nature, and her dukes and duchesses.

It all fascinated me in middle school because it was so far removed from everything that we have here in the United States. Monarchs and duchies, kings and queens, duels and quips – these things all brought out that childlike joy that can only come from meeting a new fantasy.

If I had my way, I’d travel all of Europe, but I’d linger especially long in the United Kingdom. Even more so than in Germany, I want to explore the halls that kings tread upon, see the castles built to serve as bastions of strength during troubled times, explore the countryside where young ladies grew up before debuting in London, and visit those hallowed halls where the ton spread rumors, coquettishly flirted, and made advantageous matches.

The great thing about visiting the United Kingdom? Getting lost in a country where I speak the language. Even if the accents are different, I’m sure with a bit of patience I could understand and gain directions to wherever I needed to go.

I will have to write another post about finding fictional aspirations through places I’ve traveled, though. Despite the fact I haven’t yet made it to England or past an airport in Germany, I have visited other parts of the world where I found literary inspirations.

In the meantime, I’m still reading my fabulous Lauren Willig books and wondering about something.

Akismet caught another spam comment, which I managed to check out in my filter. Has anyone heard of Drakz? I’m not really sure what it is, but the comment that was posted to my blog has some sort of tag back to the website (first of all, the comment made no sense). I clicked on the tag and realized part of my blog yesterday had been posted to this website with a “read more” function that brings the reader to my actual blog.

Should I be concerned? I have no clue. The original re-post is here, and the main US news site is here. I can’t find an “About” page for the website, so I don’t know whether to be flattered my blog warranted re-posting or annoyed someone didn’t do much more than leave a very confusing comment on my post about it. Any thoughts? I’d appreciate some insight!

Happy Valentine’s Day (or whatever holiday you’re celebrating today)!

-Rae-

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “Travelocity: Acceleration by Fiction”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

I’ve never heard of Drakz. I’d be a bit concerned about getting spammers to your blog though. I’ve had that issue in the past.

I’ve always wanted to travel. Going to Cardiff Wales in August. 🙂

I don’t know if its that much cause for concern. It sounds like it could be an automated spam generator. I’ve gotten messages like that in the past that pick out key words in your blog and attempt to form a message to get your attention. If you post about it, it might get more spam coming to your site. If it was me, I’d just put it in the spam folder. Good luck with that.

I know on my esperanto blog, I keep getting Russian spam which is really weird. So far my spam folder isn’t catching them, but on my English blog my folder usually catches spam.

So far my blog is two for two with this site. We’ll see if they decide to hit me again. I’m not going to mention it again, but both comments went to my spam queue automatically. I just looked at the queue, and that’s when I realized someone was posting parts of my blog elsewhere.

I remember seeing you say you were going to Wales. That sounds awesome!

As far as the site is concerned, I got another of those happy spam comments on my blog from yesterday, so we’re two for two. I’ll wait and see what happens.

I’m not sure if you’ve already mentioned this, but have thought about going to Israel? I remember reading that post about your fascination with the Holocaust as a child. If you haven’t been already you can see Golan Heights, The Old City, and Tzfas. Me personally, I’ve always wanted to go to Australia.

I’d love to go to Israel, actually. My parents got to go on a tour of the Holy Land a few years ago, and they came back raving about Israel. My mom wants to go back so bad. Israel is definitely on my ‘must see’ list.

Australia sounds like a pretty cool place to go, too. I’d like to visit someday. I have a good friend who lives there, and it would be an awesome place to learn to surf. (That’s my dream: learn to surf in Aussie-land!)


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

    February 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

