Ah, the Rereads

Posted on February 11, 2010. Filed under: Books, Historical Fiction, reading, Romance | Tags: , , , , |

I honestly don’t have much of a post today. I’ve been rereading one of Lauren Willig’s books in preparation for the newest one I purchased, and it’s been very pleasant going.

I tend to forget how she melds witty banter with excellent faculties of language to create these incredibly intense scenes with just one conversation. Generally I prefer to stay away from writing lots of conversation because I simply can’t find ways to justify it, especially since I’m not the best at it. But Willig has such an artful approach to it that I can’t help but be delighted.

I’m currently rereading the third in her series. The Deception of the Emerald Ring is full of light conversations with the excellent undertone of mischief, danger, intrigue, and illicit activities. It’s right up my alley.

In Emerald Ring, we get a closer glance at one of my favorite heroes: Geoffrey Pinchingdale-Snipe, whose last name is certainly a mouthful. Geoff is quite snippy, especially towards his recent acquisition, our heroine, Letty Alsworthy, the new bride to the heir of the Pinchingdale name and fortune.

Granted, it wasn’t her fault at all. Not one little bit. All she wanted was to prevent Geoff from ruining her older sister by eloping with her.

You can imagine how well that goes.

In short, the book follows Geoff after his impromptu wedding on an adventure to Ireland under the orders of the London War Office, but our dear spy simply cannot be bothered informing his most unwanted bride of this small detail. And that, of course, is where Letty comes in, deciding to follow dear Geoff to Ireland instead of wasting away in his cold, empty home and avoiding the ton as they gossip about her grabby attempts to usurp her sister’s position as rightful bride.

Bring on the witty banter.

Yep, so that’s what I’m rereading now. I’ve caught myself, several times now, cracking up in the middle of a reading due to the prose, and I simply adore the characters Willig has created. I’ll admit, I’m hooked.

What books are you rereading? And what books do you put on your reread list? I have strict categories of rereads, which I’ll probably talk about at some point or another. For today, I’m just enjoying the story.

-Rae-

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Ah, the Rereads”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

Well, pretty much all my favorite are the ones I reread. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve read the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series, Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court, Flatland (nf), The Fourth Dimension(nf), Stranger in a Strange Land, etc.

I’m glad you are enjoying your book again!

Hmmm. If I like a book well enough to let it continue to take up space on my shelves instead of handing it back in to the used book store for credit, it’s a reread. That or a manga that I actually bought, but that’s not exactly a book so I won’t ramble about those.

Mostly the books I keep are ones that inspire me, make me laugh, or make me think, or any combination of the above three. If it was just ‘oh that was a nice story, on with life’ it’s not worth a spot on the shelf. At the moment I’m not rereading anything because I’m still doing school. If I were though, I’d probably reread the Firebird trilogy once you return them to me. 😀

Honest! I’ll return them soon… Hehe. I’ve just been busy with scrapbooking and rereading my pretty Willig series. But I do have them on my list of books to read this year (i.e. this month). I’m just overly slow.

I hope you’re feeling better, Des!

I have never read Lauren Willig, but all of your comments about her are making me curious.

When I need a reread, I go to the books I used to like in high school, which is weird given that I’m now 31.

Nah, that’s not weird at all. I do the same thing with my rereads sometimes. Especially if I’m in kind of a vulnerable mood and want some comfort, I revert back to my old favorites, some of the novels I picked up even back in middle school! (Ironically I started reading Lori Wick back in middle school and surprised my teachers with the “adult-ness” of my picks.)

And as far as Lauren Willig is concerned, I can’t help gushing sometimes. It’s nice to find an author you agree with and enjoy reading. So I figured I’d share. Thanks for the comment!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

    February 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

