The Writer’s Rush

Posted on February 7, 2010. Filed under: Fantasy, My Writing | Tags: , , |

Today is a long day; suffice it to say it’s the Superbowl rush at our house.

I’m going to begin posting a series of Sunday blogs based on either sermons at church or Christian books I’ve read. I’ll also post below the Sunday part of the blog with a normal post. Most of these will include a quote whether it be from a writer, a book, or the Bible (which, yes, I know it’s a book, but I figured it’s somewhat distinguishable from other books). If you don’t want to read it, feel free to skip down to the bold heading below.

Quote for today: “I am an old man and have known a great many troubles, but most of them never happened.” – Mark Twain

The Thought: My pastor used this quote in conjunction with the question: “What are you afraid of?” If you’re a Christian, this quote applies because we claim to believe in a God who’s powerful enough to control our tomorrows and thus have no real need to worry about or fear the future. And, truthfully, it applies if you’re not a Christian as well. Tell me, how many things have you worried about over the years that never came to pass? I think Twain makes a rather good point, don’t you?

See? That was painless. Now onto the rest of the post…

Once again, I’m writing about writing. But this is a celebratory post, so get excited with me.

At exactly 12:28 a.m., I wrote the last words of Fire and Ice Bound, completing my NaNoWriMo 2009 novel. Yes, it’s a rough draft. Yes, it needs a ton of work. Yes, I’ll be editing the entire month of March.

But… here’s the kicker: I finished writing a novel all by myself.

How many people can claim that? The numbers are high enough, but really, that’s not the point. I set out to do it, and I accomplished what I wanted to accomplish. For me, it’s with both a sense of elation and excitement that I wrote the final words of my novel, closing that chapter of the story.

Now I can move on to the sequel… after copious amounts of editing in March, of course. But it’s done, and I can also move on to the next items in my ever increasing goals list for 2010. I’m happy and pleased with myself and feel I’ve given myself a sense of self-discipline I didn’t have before.

In case you’re interested, here are some of the stats about my novel. I promise not to overwhelm you with posts about the content of the book; that’s for another site.

With no further ado:

Title: Fire and Ice Bound

Genre: Fantasy (possibly YA Fantasy)

Total Number of Chapters: 18

Total Number of Pages: 158 (single-spaced, 12-point font Times New Roman)

Total Number of Words: 90,066

I’m thrilled and excited and also exhausted from all the work I’ve done both on the novel and around the house lately. I am definitely looking forward to taking a break from writing novels and beginning other projects.

Now that I’ve completed my story, I feel comfortable saying that I won’t write about it again until I begin the editing process next month. In fact, I’m hoping to have a post on reading for you tomorrow, which would be a nice change of pace, don’t you think? Unless someone asks, I’ll leave my synopsis out of this blog. See my link above for the synopsis posted to my other blog.

Anyway, I’m in a very celebratory mood despite being tired, so I’m rather looking forward to my parent’s Superbowl party tonight. When I hear everyone cheering the teams on, I’ll throw in a cheer of my own for my story.

Feel like joining me? 😀 I hope you all have fabulous Sundays, and please leave any comments or questions you may have. Thank you for reading this little self-centered post, and I promise to leave references of my writing out of the next one!

-Rae-

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “The Writer’s Rush”

RSS Feed for The Book Wyrm Comments RSS Feed

YAY for finishing a novel!!! I’m currently working on fanfiction. Because I’m a sad pathetic person lol

Hahaha, I don’t think that’s sad and pathetic at all! I think it’s fabulous. I need to be working on a fanfic of my own that hasn’t been updated in over a year. *shivers* Of course, the results of that could be disastrous as I write “epic” fanfics and end up almost overdoing it.

What fandoms do you write for? (If you write for more than one, that is.) I’m assuming Torchwood is on your list. Are you an ff.net member? That’s where all mine goes. 😀

(And thanks for the yay. 😉 It makes me smile.)

Congratulations! Woot! *does a happy dance*

You should do something extra special to celebrate completing your Nanowrimo. Treat yourself to something. Not everyone accomplishes this. You did AWESOME.

I don’t think your post is particularly self centered either. You are a writer, and your blogging about your journey. Actually finishing your rough draft is an important step in that journey, so don’t downplay it. You did great! And if you think it’s ‘tooting your own horn’ (which I personally don’t), go ahead and toot away. I’m in the mood for some music anyway. 🙂

Yay! Thank you for the comment! (I am still really excited about having finished it. It’s kind of crazy to be done!) I haven’t decided what my extra special something to do will be. Celebrating hasn’t been the biggest thing on my mind lately. Actually (somewhat unfortunately) I’ve been concentrating on getting on with my February list and moving to the next big thing.

At least the next big thing will hopefully be fun. I’m starting a scrapbook. So maybe that can be my celebration for the rest of February. We’ll see…

Thanks again for the comment!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

    February 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

