The Story Behind The Name

Posted on January 29, 2010. Filed under: Books, Fairy Tales, Fantasy | Tags: , , , , |

I haven’t really joined NaBloPoMo yet, but I still plan to. It’s only a matter of time before I do. Before that, however, I wanted to update my blog with a short story about the blog title.

“The Book Wyrm” is something that I totally did not come up with on my own. It’s actually a concept introduced by an author who writes a fantastic fantasy series. Mercedes Lackey is the author of the series, and in a short bio, she is a fantasy author with more than 100 titles to her name. For myself, I’ve purchased most of her books from Wal-Mart, of all places, because they sell them there at a nice price.

Her series “The Five Hundred Kingdoms” began in 2004 with a rather amusing and quaint tale about a Cinderella wannabe who becomes a fairy godmother in a twist of fate that leaves her full of magical power, new tricks to learn, and kingdoms to watch over.

The sequel to that story is the book One Good Knight, which is, by far, my favorite in the series. Perhaps it’s because I like dragons. Or perhaps I have a penchant for genre-bending series. Either way, this particular story was both light-hearted and amusing with a plot that I loved.

I get my title from this book. Here’s an excerpt to explain:

“Instead of adding to that, Periapt looked back to them. ‘You know that all dragons collect treasure of one sort or another, correct?’ he asked, looking straight at Andie.

“‘That’s The Tradition, of course,’ she replied, ‘I don’t know how you could possibly escape that particular compulsion.’

“‘Well, our family does that, too, of course,’ he said. ‘But our treasure is a bit different. We’re librarians.’

“He held up his fore-claws and she saw that they had been blunted; looking closer, she saw that what was covering the talons were sheaths of some sort with blunt tips. Well, if they were librarians…they’d have to keep from damaging the books, wouldn’t they?

“‘Librarians,’ she said aloud, then grinned as she got it. ‘Good gods. You are Bookwyrms, aren’t you?'”

Mercedes Lackey's Second Book in the Five Hundred Kingdoms Series

My personal favorite of the Five Hundred Kingdoms series

Obviously, Andie is talking to dragons in this particular excerpt. I laughed so hard when I first read it. The wit behind it was perfect, the concept entertaining enough to keep my attention, and the writing impeccable.

So I adopted the title for myself. Not only do I love a good book, but I have a rather enormous library (similar to Periapt, the dragon Andie spoke with) that I’ve generally read through at least once.

In any event, if you’re entertained enough by the concepts introduced in this particular post and at all interested in fantasy, I’d suggest picking up Lackey’s series. It’s delightfully humorous and usually a very quick read.

I’ll be updating again soon since February is fast approaching. I’m going to join NaBloPoMo to keep up with my progress, but I hope you’ve enjoyed the posts so far.

Feel free to leave any comments or questions! Enjoy your reading!

-Rae

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Reviews

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • NaBloPoMo Participant

  • When DO I Write?

    January 2010
    S M T W T F S
        Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

